Phantogram reflect on our “Cruel World” with latest single — listen

Our third preview of the band's Voices follow-up

photo by Timothy Saccenti

Featured photo by Timothy Saccenti

Phantogram have said that upcoming album Three (October 7th via Republic) is about heartbreak. “We’ve kind of had a tough year, so a lot of inspiration and drive came from our own experiences,” singer Sarah Barthel told Pitchfork back in June. We’ve seen the electropop two-piece, rounded out by Josh Carter, deal with strife using sheer sonic firepower on early singles “You Don’t Get Me High Anymore” and “Run Run Blood”.

For new offering “Cruel World”, however, they dial down the intensity and, instead, coolly reflect in hopes of finding a silver lining amidst all the mayhem. “The overall message is about how tragic life can be at times,” Barthel explained to Complex, “how the world can bring you down… But you have to try to find the beauty in it sometimes.”

Phantogram debuted “Cruel World” live in Chicago last month. Today, they’ve shared the official studio version. Hear it above.

Three Tracklist:
01. Funeral Pyre
02. Same Old Blues
03. You Don’t Get Me High Anymore
04. Cruel World
05. Barking Dog
06. You’re Mine
07. Answer
08. Run Run Blood
09. Destroyer
10. Calling All