Wilco preview new album with whimsical “Someone to Lose” — listen

Schmilco will be here in less than two weeks

Wilco // Photo by Philip Cosores

Photo by Philip Cosores

Schmilco is the highly anticipated album from Wilco, set to hit stores on September 9th via dBpm Records. Their 10th studio effort follows last summer’s surprise Star Wars LP and is being teased this week with “Someone to Lose”.

“Where ya gonna go in your winter coat?” Jeff Tweedy curiously asks his significant other, noticing it’s far too warm to be wearing such heavy garments. Backed by a woozy and whimsical arrangement, the frontman worries too much — almost to the point of absurdity — that “someone else is gonna get” the apple of his eye.

(Read: A Wilco State of Mind)

Stream it up above. For more of Schmilo, hear “Locator” and “If I Ever Was a Child”. Also check out Michael Roffman’s new cover story, A Wilco State of Mind.

Schmilco Tracklist:
01. Normal American Kids
02. If I Ever Was a Child
03. Cry All Day
04. Common Sense
05. Nope
06. Someone to Lose
07. Happiness
08. Quarters
09. Locator
10. Shrug and Destroy
11. We Aren’t the World (Safety Girl)
12. Just Say Goodbye