Jack White unearths acoustic version of The Raconteurs’ “Carolina Drama” — listen

Third Man rocker breathes new life into the 2008 track


Featured photo by David Brendan Hall

Next week, Jack White will release Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016. The Third Man Records-produced compilation collects acoustic versions of tracks from all across his discography, including material from The White StripesThe Raconteurs, and his solo projects — some never unearthed until now.

In August, we heard “City Lights”, an unused White Stripes cut originally recorded for 2005’s Get Behind Me Satan. Now, White has revealed a previously unreleased acoustic mix of “Carolina Drama” from The Raconteurs’ Consolers of the Lonely. The Nashville rocker has always been one for innovation — the guy did just play the first record in space, after all — so it shouldn’t be all that surprising that he’s found a way to give new life to a song that originally dates back nearly 10 years.

Check it out above. The highly anticipated Acoustic Recordings lands in stores on September 9th.

Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 Tracklist:
01. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
02. Apple Blossom (Remixed)
03. I’m Bound To Pack It Up (Remixed)
04. Hotel Yorba
05. We’re Going To Be Friends
06. You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket
07. Well It’s True That We Love One Another
08. Never Far Away

09. Forever For Her (Is Over For Me)
10. White Moon
11. As Ugly As I Seem
12. City Lights (Previously Unreleased White Stripes Track)
13. Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap
14. Effect & Cause

15. Love Is The Truth (Acoustic Mix)
16. Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)
17. Carolina Drama (Acoustic Mix)
18. Love Interruption
19. On And On And On
20. Machine Gun Silhouette (Acoustic Mix)

21. Blunderbuss
22. Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy (Alternate Mix)
23. I Guess I Should Go To Sleep (Alternate Mix)
24. Just One Drink (Acoustic Mix)
25. Entitlement
26. Want And Able