Mike Watt to release live album featuring Eddie Vedder, members of Foo Fighters

Recorded at Chicago’s Metro amidst the former Minutemen bassist’s 1995 solo tour


Aside from playing in one of punk’s most influential bands, former Minutemen bassist Mike Watt has enjoyed a lengthy solo career that started with the “Ring Spiel” tour back in 1995. That tour wasn’t just a momentous occasion in Watt’s own life; it also brought together one of the most eclectic lineups in rock history. Opening for Watt were a bunch of relative nobodies known as the Foo Fighters and a certain Eddie Vedder side-project called Hovercraft.

If the mere idea of that lineup makes your eyes pop out of your skull, boy do we have a surprise for you: Columbia and Legacy Recordings have announced a new live album, Ring Spiel Tour ‘95, recorded when that fateful tour stopped by Chicago’s Metro for a night. Watt’s backing band that night consisted of Vedder, Dave Grohl, Pat Smear, and William Goldsmith … so yeah, this one is going to be cool.

The album will be released on November 11th in a 2xLP/2xCD set that’s available to preorder now. While you wait on that preorder, check out the tracklist below and scope this video of Vedder and Grohl backing up Watt on The Jon Stewart Show.

Ring Spiel Tour ’95 Artwork:

mikewatt Mike Watt to release live album featuring Eddie Vedder, members of Foo Fighters

Ring Spiel Tour ’95 Tracklist:
01. Walking the Cow
02. Big Train
03. Formal Introduction
04. Against the ’70s
05. Drove Up from Pedro
06. Habit
07. Makin’ the Freeway
08. Chinese Firedrill
09. Piss-Bottle Man
10. Forever… One Reporter’s Opinion
11. E-Ticket Ride
12. Political Song for Michael Jackson
13. Coincidence is Either Hit or Miss
14. The Red and the Black
15. Secret Garden
16. Powerful Hankerin’