John Legend and Chance the Rapper head to the “Penthouse Floor” on new song — listen

Legend's forthcoming album also features Miguel and Brittany Howard

Darkness and Light is the fifth studio album from John Legend. Due out December 2nd via Columbia, it boasts production from Blake Mills and a trio of impressive guests in Chance the Rapper, Miguel, and Alabama Shakes singer Brittany Howard.

The 12-track collection sees Legend writing from the perspective of a first-time father as well as someone who’s regularly involved and outspoken when it comes to today’s social issues. (The singer campaigned for Hillary Clinton.)

The latest track off Darkness and Light is called “Penthouse Floor” and features a guy who is also very familiar with the joy of fatherhood and the importance of supporting HRC: Lil Chano. Co-written by Sia and Beck associate Greg Kurstin, it’s a funky and slinky body-moving tune which sees them reaching for the skies both literally and metaphorically: “Let’s go ride the elevator/ They can’t keep us out no more / Let’s go to the penthouse floor.”

Take a listen to the song below, which debuted on Beats 1 this afternoon.

Darkness and Light Tracklist:
01. I Know Better
02. Penthouse Floor (feat. Chance the Rapper)
03. Darkness and Light (feat. Brittany Howard)
04. Overload (feat. Miguel)
05. Love Me Now
06. What You Do To Me
07. Surefire
08. Right By You (for Luna)
09. Temporary Painless
10. How Can I Blame You
11. Same Old Story
12. Marching Into the Dark


Follow Consequence