Rush announce 40th anniversary 2112 box set

Featuring rare, live, and previously unreleased material, along with contributions from Foo Fighters, Alice in Chains, and more


Rush will mark the 40th anniversary of their classic 1976 concept album 2112 with a deluxe reissue that features covers by Foo FightersDave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins, Alice in Chains, Billy Talent, and others. As Rolling Stone reports, the hefty box set will also include a number of rare, live, and previously unreleased tracks as well as a DVD featuring a newly restored vintage 1976 Rush concert recorded at the Capitol Theatre in Passaic, New Jersey. It’s scheduled to arrive on December 16th, and pre-orders are currently available through Rush’s official website.

The inclusion of five contemporary covers makes 2112 – 40th a more interesting release than your typical box set. Performed by Grohl, Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz (“Overture”), Alice in Chains (“Tears”), Billy Talent (“A Passage to Bangkok”), Porcupine Tree’s Steven Wilson (“The Twilight Zone”), and Jacob Moon (“Something for Nothing”), these covers speak to 2112’s influence and legacy. Also included are a retrospective look at the album and a Q&A with Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson.

Fans who want the full experience can splurge on a Super Deluxe version of the reissue ($124.99), which includes a 3-LP, 200-gram vinyl version of the album along with the 2CD/DVD set ($34.99 on its own). As if that weren’t fancy enough, it all comes packaged in a box lined with velvet flocking and stuffed with extras like a reprint of the 1976 Massey Hall handbill and buttons featuring each band member. The band is selling all kinds of crazy gift sets to go along with the reissue, including several that include a 2112 skateboard deck. Gnarly.

Each edition of 2112 – 40th includes comprehensive liner notes detailing the making of the album and newly designed artwork by Syme. Check out the Super Deluxe spread and full tracklist below.

21121 36fc648d 3ef3 4e8c b812 da015db12fa1 Rush announce 40th anniversary 2112 box set

2112 – 40th tracklist:

Disc 1: Original Album Newly Remastered by Abbey Road Studios
I. Overture
II. The Temples of Syrinx
III. Discovery
IV. Presentation
V. Oracle: The Dream
VI. Soliloquy
VII. Grand Finale
02. A Passage to Bangkok
03. The Twilight Zone
04. Lessons
05. Tears
06. Something for Nothing

Disc 2
01. Solar Federation
02. Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz – Overture
03. Billy Talent – A Passage to Bangkok
04. Steven Wilson – The Twilight Zone
05. Alice In Chains – Tears
06. Jacob Moon – Something for Nothing
07. 2112 – Live at Massey Hall 1976 Outtake
08. “Something for Nothing” – Live at Massey Hall 1976 Outtake
09. The Twilight Zone – Live 1977 Contraband
10. 2112 1976 Radio Ad

DVD: Live at Capitol Theatre 1976
01. Bastille Day
02. Anthem
03. Lakeside Park
04. 2112
05. Fly by Night
06. In the Mood

Bonus Videos
Overture: Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz
A Passage to Bangkok: Behind the Scenes with Billy Talent
2112 – 40 Years Closer: A Q&A with Alex Lifeson and Terry Brown