Ab-Soul shares smoking new single and video “D.R.U.G.S.” — watch

Top Daw Entertainment rapper's DWTW drops this Friday

Ab-Soul’s new album, DWTW, is finally set to drop this Friday, December 9th. News of the release came just this past Monday along with the track “Threatening Nature”. Now that we’re two days out, the Top Dawg Entertainment rapper has shared another new song and its accompanying video.

“D.R.U.G.S.” is thick with a heavy mood, like how the world feels when you’ve taken one too many narcotics. Despite the woozy vibe and the PANAMÆRA-directed video’s stark black-and-white visuals of flaming skulls, roses, and steam covered mirrors, there’s actually a heartfelt message in the lyrics. “I love my mama, lord knows I does,” Ab-Soul sings on the chorus, which features Mac Miller (according to Genius). “I love my family, my cousins that’s my blood/ I love this music it comes from up above.” Of course, it all ends with, “Last but not least/ I love drugs,” but at least the video concludes with Ab-Soul calling his mom to express his love.

Check it out above. DWTW, which follows 2014’s These Days...also includes previously released singles “Huey Knew” and “Braille”, as well as appearances by fellow Black Hippy member ScHoolboy Q, TDE co-president “Punch” and label mate SZA.

DWTW Tracklist:
01. Raw (Backwards) (feat. Zacari)
02. Braille (feat. Bas)
03. Huey Knew (feat. Dash)
04. Threatening Nature
05. Womanogamy
06. Invocation (feat. Kokaine)
07. Wifey vs Wifi/P.M.S. (feat BR3)
08. Beat the Case (feat. ScHoolboy Q)/Straight Crooked
09. Portishead in the Morning/Her World
10. God’s A Girl?
11. Now You Know
12. D.R.U.G.S.
13. Evil Genius (feat. Teedra Moses, Javonte)
14. Lonely Soul (feat. Punch)/The Law (Prelude) (feat. SZA)
15. The Law (feat. Mac Miller, Rapsody)
16. YMF


Follow Consequence