Grandaddy talk technology and humans on dreamy new song “A Lost Machine” — listen

A third preview of the band's first LP since 2006

Last Place is the forthcoming album from Grandaddy, due out March 3rd via Danger Mouse’s 30th Century Records. The long-awaited follow-up to 2006’s Just Like the Fambly Cat serves as their first LP since reuniting four years ago.

Already we’ve heard a pair of tracks off the LP: “Way We Won’t” and “Clear Your History”. Today, the alt-rock outfit has unboxed “A Lost Machine”, a mournful piano ballad that slowly swells to become a spacey epic. “Everything about us is a lost machine/ Everything about we is a forgotten dream,” sings frontman Jason Lytle, reflecting on the strained relationship between technology and humans.

Check it out above via its ghostly accompanying visual.

Last Place Tracklist:
01. Way We Won’t
02. Brush with the Wild
03. Evermore
04. Oh She Deleter????
05. The Boat is in the Barn
06. Chek Injin
07. I Don’t Wanna Live Here Anymore
08. That’s What You Get for Gettin’ Outta Bed
09. This is the Part
10. Jed the 4th
11. A Lost Machine
12. Songbird Son


Follow Consequence