Passion Pit’s Michael Angelakos previews holiday album with new song “Christmas in Your Arms” and video — watch

Merry Christmas, Mr. Fields arrives later this week

Featured photo by Philip Cosores

Merry Christmas, Mr. Fields is the upcoming Christmas “video album” from Passion Pit frontman Michael Angelakos, former Harlem Shakes member Brent Katz, and director Hana Haley. The collection spans 15 tracks and is due to arrive this Friday, December 16th, through Frenchkiss Records.

According to a press release, Mr. Fields includes elements of 1940’s music, “the classicist’s take on orchestral musical theater,” and a “post-Beatles John Lennon and gooey Beach Boys sort of earnestness,” according to a press release. Its three collaborators’ mission was to create a piece with both “the most concentrated dosage of Christmas feeling, dreamy, full of wonder” and a nostalgic sense of sadness.

Our first preview of the effort, “Stained Glass Windows”, came on Monday. Now, Angelakos has shared a second offering in the dramatic “Christmas in Your Arms”. Check out its visual above, which, like the entirety of the video album, stars the students of Angelakos’ alma mater, the Nichols School in Buffalo.

Merry Christmas, Mr. Fields OST Tracklist:
01. Overture
02. Meet Me at Daphne’s
03. Evergreen
04. Weather the Storm
05. Permission to Audition
06. Footprints in the Snow
07. December to Remember
08. O Holy Night
09. Stained Glass Windows
10. Answer Me, Harry
11. And Never Be Afraid
12. Wake Up, It’s Christmas
13. Christmas in Your Arms
14. Merry Christmas, Mr. Fields
15. Stained Glass Windows (End Credits)


Follow Consequence