Ryan Adams performs seven new songs from Prisoner live — listen

Adams and his new band premiered fresh material at Sydney, Australia's Enmore Theatre

Photo by Philip Cosores

Ryan Adams officially announced the February 10th release of his latest album, Prisoner, earlier this week. The same day the news came out, Adams and his new backing band performed at Sydney, Australia’s Enmore Theatre, where they played a handful of tracks from Prisoner for the first time.

Someone in the audience bootlegged the entire show — even the parts where Adams berated a crowd member for constantly being on their phone — and you can hear the full thing here. In addition to the improvised “Gosh, I Love Toast”, the recording includes new songs “Outbound Train”, “Haunted House”, “Breakdown”, “To Be Without You”, “Doomsday”, “When the Summer Ends”, “I Just Might”, and the Prisoner title track. Adams also performed the album’s lead single, “Do You Still Love Me?”.

Note that around track 12, the track titles in the playlist get flipped about, so you’ll actually have to click on 15 (“Talk”) to hear “Prisoner” (listed as 14). In particular, you might want to check out the crowd interaction that takes place on track 29, where someone in the audience gets engaged and Adams wonders, “Is this the right kind of show to be doing that at?” Listen to the full recording at Archive.org.

Hear the studio version of “Do You Still Love Me?”:

Prisoner Tracklist:
01. Do You Still Love Me?
02. Prisoner
03. Doomsday
04. Haunted House
05. Shiver And Shake
06. To Be Without You
07. Anything I Say To You Now
08. Breakdown
09. Outbound Train
10. Broken Anyway
11. Tightrope
12. We Disappear


Follow Consequence