The Flaming Lips start the day with new song “Sunrise (Eyes of the Young)” — listen

An uplifting cut from the band's upcoming 16th (!) album

Flaming Lips, photo by Philip Cosores

Photo by Philip Cosores

Oczy Mlody is the forthcoming album from The Flaming Lips, scheduled for release on January 13th. Their 16th effort to date follows their 2014 Beatles tribute album, With a Little Help From My Fwends, and serves as the first full-length of original material since The Terror in 2013.

Wayne Coyne and his psychedelic pals have already broken off two previews, “The Castle” and “How??”. They return today with a third selection in “Sunrise (Eyes of the Young)”. As though caught in the haze of a morning’s early rays, the song starts off humbly, Coyne accompanied by sweet piano. However, it’s not long before the sun make its full ascent, however, and the track’s lifted up by spacey harmonies, thick reverb, and richer instrumentation.

Check it out below. Update: The Lips have shared a video for the track.

The Lips will embark on a 2017 tour behind the LP.

Oczy Mlody Tracklist:
01. Oczy Mlody
02. How
03. There Should Be Unicorns
04. Sunrise (Eyes of the Young)
05. Nigdy Nie (Never No)
06. Galaxy I Sink
07. One Night While Hunting For Faeries and Witches and Wizards to Kill
08. Do Glowy
09. Listening to the Frogs with Demon Eyes
10. The Castle
11. Almost Home (Bliski Domu)
12. We A Family


Follow Consequence