Stephen Malkmus, Sleater-Kinney, more contribute new music to Battle Hymns protest album

The tracklist also features members of The New Pornographers, Built to Spill, and Superchunk


The likes of Stephen Malkmus, Sleater-Kinney’s Carrie Brownstein, Corin Tucker, and Janet Weiss, Built to Spill’s Doug Martsch, The New PornographersA.C. Newman, Superchunk’s Mac McCaughan, and more have contributed new music to Battle Hymns, a compilation album “created in direct response to the current political situation in the U.S.A.”

The project was spearheaded and assembled by Weiss and her Quasi bandmate Sam Coomes. They also serve as the backing band for a number of the album’s tracks.

It’s available to download through Quasi’s website. Donations are heavily encouraged, with proceeds split evenly between Planned Parenthood, the ACLU, and

Battle Hymns Tracklist:
1. Love Always (Kathy Foster) – “We Won’t Go Back”
2. Mac McCaughan – “Happy New Year (Prince Can’t Die Again)”
3. Boss Hog – “Save Our Soul”
4. Stephen Malkmus – “Midnight Cruisers”
5. Drew Grow – “Time Bomb”
6. MEDS (Carrie Brownstein and Katie Harkin) – “No More Fizz”
7. Mary Timony – “Fight The Hate”
8. Quasi – “Ballad of Donald Duck & Elmer Fudd”
9. Libraness (Ash Bowie) – “A Kind of Survival”
10. Filthy Friends (Corin Tucker, Peter Buck, Scott McCaughey, Kurt Bloch, Bill Rieflin) – “Love In The Time of Resistance”
11. Carl Newman – “Our Nero”
12. Rebecca Gates – “NO DIVISION”
13. Doug Martsch – “Fuck 2016”
14. Sean Croghan – “Spider House”