Alex G announces new album, Rocket, shares two songs — listen

The 14-track album, his second with indie label Domino, drops on May 19th

In 2015, lo-fi wunderkind Alex G (née Alex Giannascoli) emerged from his bedroom to release the excellent Beach Music via indie heavy-hitter Domino. Since then, he’s kept busy touring the festival circuit, collaborating with Frank Ocean, and prepping for his next LP, which we’ve now learned is called Rocket. The 14-track album will drop via Domino on May 19th.

In anticipation, Giannascoli has released two tracks from the album. The first, “Bobby”, evokes a campfire singalong with rhythmic strums, lazy harmonies, and the flourish of a swooning fiddle. Accompanying the song is a video that’s every bit as laid back as the song, with weirdo animations overlaying shots of industrial Philadelphia and a live performance in an empty warehouse.

Giannascoli has also shared the song “Witch”, a spookier, more abstract cut with shadowy, echoing vocals and discordant strings. Check them out below along with Rocket‘s artwork and tracklist.

Rocket Artwork:



Rocket Tracklist:
01. Poison Root
02. Proud
03. County
04. Bobby
05. Witch
06. Horse
07. Brick
08. Sportstar
09. Judge
10. Rocket
11. Powerful Man
12. Alina
13. Big Fish
14. Guilty


Follow Consequence