Mastodon release new album, Emperor of Sand: Stream/download

Grammy-nominated metal rockers return with their seventh LP

Photo by Carlo Cavaluzzi

Today, Mastodon celebrate the release of their new album, Emperor of Sand. Apple Music and Spotify subscribers can stream it down below.

Spanning 11 tracks, Emperor of Sand serves as the metal outfit’s seventh overall following 2014’s Once More ‘Round the Sun. It was recorded in Kennesaw, Georgia, and produced by Brendan O’Brien, who’s worked with the likes of Pearl Jam and Bruce Springsteen.

In an interview with Rolling Stone, drummer-singer-lyricist Brann Dailor explained that the album grapples with themes of mortality, as the main protagonist within the lyrics “is handed a death sentence from a desert ruler, and then wanders an arid wasteland – a metaphor for illness and doom.”

“Time is a very big theme of the album,” he elaborated. “How much time do we have left? What are we doing with our time?” He added, “It’s about going through cancer, going through chemotherapy and all the things associated with that. I didn’t want to be literal about it. But it’s all in there. You can read between the lines.”

Mastodon will support the LP with a North American tour that kicks off next month and features openers in Eagles of Death Metal and Russian Circles.

Emperor of Sand Artwork:

Emperor of Sand Tracklist:
01. Sultan’s Curse
02. Show Yourself
03. Precious Stones
04. Steambreather
05. Roots Remain
06. Word To The Wise
07. Ancient Kingdom
08. Clandestiny
09. Andromeda
10. Scorpion Breath
11. Jaguar God


Follow Consequence