Sufjan Stevens, The National’s Bryce Dessner, and Nico Muhly preview Planetarium album with “Saturn” — listen

Due for release in June, 17-track LP is inspired by the solar system

In 2013, after completing two states of his reputed 50-state album project, Sufjan Stevens moved on to bigger and better things. Specifically, he teamed up with The National’s Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly, and drummer James McAlister for an original composition inspired by the solar system. Entitled Planetarium, the project received its live debut during a multi-night run at the Brooklyn Academy Of Music. Years later, they’re finally releasing a recording of the project. The 17-track LP is set for release on June 9th via 4AD, and tonight they’ve unveiled the first preview in the form of “Saturn”. Listen below.

Update: The official music video for “Saturn” has been unveiled. It features fuzzy, futuristic footage of Stevens singing, as well as images of planets and lyrics for the track.

Watch a teaser for Planetarium:

Planetarium Tracklist:
01. Neptune
02. Jupiter
03. Halley’s Comet
04. Venus
05. Uranus
06. Mars
07. Black Energy
08. Sun
09. Tides
10. Moon
11. Pluto
12. Kuiper Belt
13. Black Hole
14. Saturn
15. In the Beginning
16. Earth
17. Mercury


Follow Consequence