Kevin Morby shares video for new song “Aboard My Train” — watch

The former Woods member gives us another preview of his fourth solo LP

photo by Nina Corcoran

Photo by Nina Corcoran

City Music is the forthcoming album from Kevin Morby, slated to hit shelves June 16th through Dead Oceans. It follows last year’s well-received Singing Saw and represents the singer-songwriter’s fourth overall.

Our first look at the LP came with the March-released single “Come to Me Now”. Today, Morby has let loose another track in “Aboard My Train”. According to the former Woods member, the snappy number is about the various people he’s befriended since becoming a musician.

“Doing what I do, people are constantly coming in and out of your life,” the indie folk troubadour notes in a press statement. “The moment you think you’ll never see someone again, they reappear and that’s what this song is about starting with my first best friend, Pablo, who lived on my street in Tulsa, and was my first memory of having a best friend.”

In an accompanying self-directed music video, Morby can be seen scribbling the names of some of these friends (Justin, Meg, Cyrus, etc.) across a mirror. “I wanted to make a video at home, something sort of lo-fi,” he explains. “I kind of missed the challenge of having to come up with something creative with little to no money.”

Check it out below.

In support of City Music, Morby will spend the next couple of months on the road, headlining shows as well as performing at festivals like Boston CallingPrimavera Sound in Barcelona, Newport Folk Festival, and Denmark’s Roskilde Festival. Find his upcoming itinerary here.

City Music Tracklist:
01. Come To Me Now
02. Crybaby
03. 1234
04. Aboard My Train
05. Dry Your Eyes
06. Flannery
07. City Music
08. Tin Can
09. Caught In My Eye
10. Night Time
11. Pearly Gates
12. Downtown’s Lights


Follow Consequence