Sufjan Stevens releases Carrie & Lowell Live album: Stream/download

Plus, Stevens announced a new mixtape of Carrie & Lowell outtakes and demos

Photo by​ ​Ben Kaye

​This year marks the two-year anniversary of Sufjan Stevens’ acclaimed full-length effort Carrie & LowellTo celebrate the occasion, Stevens and his label Asthmatic Kitty have released a live album version of the record. Apple Music and Spotify users can stream it in full down below, or you can play it via Bandcamp.

The live collection was recorded on November 9th, 2015 at North Charleston Performing Arts Center in South Carolina. It spans 15 songs, including singles “No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross” and “Should Have Known Better”. There’s also an encore performance featuring Stevens and Gallant’s cover of Drake’s “Hotline Bling”.

In addition to audio, Carrie & Lowell Live is available in visual formats (YouTube, Vimeo). The concert footage was shot and produced by We Are Films, edited by Keith Bradshaw and Deborah Johnson, and mixed by Casey Foubert.

This release comes ahead of Stevens’ new collaborative album with The National’s Bryce Dessner and Nico Muhly, due out June 9th.

Update: Stevens has announced he will release a Carrie & Lowell companion mixtape featuring previously unheard material from the original studio sessions. Titled The Greatest Gift Mixtape — Outtakes, Remixes, & Demos from Carrie & Lowell, it’s due out October 20th on cassette, digital, and LP formats via Asthmatic Kitty.

Carrie & Lowell Live Artwork:

Carrie & Lowell Live Tracklist:
01. Redford (For Yia-Yia and Papou)
02. Death With Dignity
03. Should Have Known Better
04. All of Me Wants All Of You
05. John My Beloved
06. The Only Thing
07. Fourth of July
08. No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
09. Carrie & Lowell
10. Drawn to the Blood
11. Eugene
12. Vesuvius
13. Futile Devices
14. Blue Bucket of Gold
15. Blue Bucket Outro

16. Hotline Bling (feat. Gallant)


Follow Consequence