Dan Auerbach shares new solo album Waiting on a Song: Stream

The Black Keys rocker returns goes it alone for the follow-up to 2009's Keep It Hid

photo by Ben Kaye

Photo by Ben Kaye

Dan Auerbach, frontman for The Black Keys and The Arcs, will release a new solo album titled Waiting on a Song on June 2nd. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below via NPR.

Waiting on a Song serves as Auerbach’s follow-up to 2009’s Keep It Hid. It’s said to be heavily inspired by Nashville, where Auerbach currently resides, and is described by the indie rocker as “a whole history of everything I love about music.”

Recorded at his own local Easy Eye Sound studio, the album was the result of countless co-writing sessions with country music veteran John Prine and Johnny Cash associate David “Fergie” Ferguson. Guitar virtuoso Duane Eddy appears on the record, as does longtime Cash bassist Dave Roe and drummer Gene Christman and pianist Bobby Wood, who both played alongside Dusty Springfield and Elvis Presley. “These guys tell me they’re genuinely thrilled to be here because we’re making records like they used to,” Auerbach previously told Rolling Stone of his guest collaborators.

Auerbach had a large stack of about 60 songs to work with for the record. Those that made the final tracklist include a three-chord singalong called “Waiting on a Song”, a tribute to renowned producer Rick Rubin titled “Malibu Man”, and “Shine on Me”, a cut featuring Mark Knopfler.

Waiting on a Song Artwork:

waiting on a song auerbach album Dan Auerbach shares new solo album Waiting on a Song: Stream

Waiting on a Song Tracklist:
01. Waiting on A Song
02. Malibu Man
03. Livin’ in Sin
04. Shine on Me
05. King of a One Horse Town
06. Never in My Wildest Dreams
07. Cherrybomb
08. Stand by My Girl
09. Undertow
10. Show Me