Mogwai head to a “Party in the Dark” on spacey new song — listen

Plus, check out its freaky music video inspired by '80s horror classics

Mogwai, photo by Brian Sweeney
Mogwai, photo by Brian Sweeney

On September 1st, Mogwai are set to return with a new album called Every Country’s Sun. The Temporary Residence LP follows 2014’s Rave Tapes as well as last year’s Atomic, a reworked version of the soundtrack they did for the BBC documentary Storyville – Atomic: Living in Dread and Promise.

The Scottish outfit offered fans a peek at the record with last month’s “Coolverine”. Now, Mogwai have broken off a second teaser in “Party in the Dark”. A press release describes it as “perhaps the most fully realized art-pop sing-along in the band’s discography.” While there’s no denying it’s a bit of a departure from their usual guitar-heavy post-rock, the song’s hazy, galactic aura (produced by The Flaming Lips and Tame Impala associate Dave Fridmann) suits them just fine.

Update — Wednesday, August 9th at 12:20 p.m. CT: The freaky official music video, helmed by Craig Murray and inspired by ’80s sci-fi and horror movies, has been unveiled today. According to a press release, it was “created using silicone moulded sculptures, which were cast in wax and then melted. The video was filmed over 10 days a combination of stop motion, regular and time-lapse filming.” Watch below. 

In addition to Every Country’s Sun, “Party in the Dark” will be appear on a special two-song 7-inch on August 25th, backed by the non-LP track “Eternal Panther”.

Every Country’s Sun Tracklist:
01. Coolverine
02. Party In The Dark
03. Brain Sweeties
04. Crossing The Road Material
05. aka 47
06. 20 Size
07. 1000 Foot Face
08. Don’t Believe The Fife
09. Battered At The Scramble
10. Old Poisons
11. Every Country’s Sun