UNKLE announce first album in seven years, The Road: Part 1, share “Looking For the Rain” — listen

Featuring contributions from members of Queens of the Stone Age, Primal Scream, and The Duke Spirit


After a seven-year hiatus, James Lavelle is set to return with a new album from UNKLE. Entitled The Road: Part 1, the 15-track LP is due out August 18th through Pledge Music. It’s the project’s fifth album to date and long-awaited follow-up to 2010’s Where Did the Night Fall.

According to a press release, the album taps into the multicultural landscape of modern London and sets out to unite an eclectic mix of ideas, cultures, and genres under the UNKLE umbrella to create something unique. Lavelle explains, “I wanted to make a record that I hadn’t been able to before, going back to the roots of where I came from, with a foot in modern London.”

(Read: 20 Best Hidden Tracks on Albums)

The lengthy list of contributors includes Queens of the Stone Age’s Troy Van Leeuwen and Jon Theodore, Primal Scream’s Andrew Innes, The Duke Spirit’s Liela Moss, Dhani Harrison, Keaton Henson, ESKA, and long-time UNKLE collaborator Mark Lanegan.

Ahead of its release, UNKLE have already shared two singles, “Cowboys or Indians” and “Sick Lullaby”. Now, comes a third preview, “Looking For the Rain”, featuring Lanegan and ESKA. The cinematic track features string arrangements by Will Malone and can be heard below.

Pre-order exclusive physical bundles of The Road: Part 1 here.

The Road: Part 1 Artwork:

unkle the road part 1 album art UNKLE announce first album in seven years, The Road: Part 1, share Looking For the Rain    listen

The Road: Part 1 Tracklist:
01. Iter I: Have You Looked At Yourself
02. Farewell (feat. YSÉE, ESKA, Elliott Power, Keaton Henson, Liela Moss, Mïnk, Dhani Harrison, and Steven Young)
03. Looking For the Rain (feat. Mark Lanegan and ESKA)
04. Cowboys Or Indians’ (feat. Elliott Power, Mïnk, and YSÉE)
05. Iter II: How Do You Feel
06. Nowhere to Run/Bandits
07. Iter III: Keep On Runnin
08. Stole Enough (feat. Mïnk)
09. Arms Length (feat. Elliott Power, Mïnk and Callum Finn)
10. Iter IV: We Are Stardust
11. Sonata (feat. Keaton Henson)
12. The Road (feat. ESKA)
13. Iter V: Friend Or Foe
14. Sunrise (Always Come Around) (feat. Liela Moss)
15. Sick Lullaby (feat. Keaton Henson)