The War on Drugs share new album, A Deeper Understanding: Stream/download

Philly outfit's excellent fourth studio effort arrives a few days early


Photo by Shawn Brackbill

Today, The War on Drugs are set to release their new album, A Deeper Understanding, through Atlantic Records. Subscribers of Apple Music and Spotify can stream it in full below.

A Deeper Understanding is the Philly indie rockers’ fourth studio effort overall and the follow-up to Lost in the Dream, 2014’s Album of the Year; it also marks their major label debut. Along with mastermind Adam Granduciel, the record features bassist Dave Hartley, keyboardist Robbie Bennett, drummer Charlie Hall, as well as multi-instrumentalists Anthony LaMarca and Jon Natchez. Shawn Everett (Alabama Shakes, Weezer) handled engineering duties while Granduciel managed production.

(Read: The Top 25 Songs of 2015 So Far)

Once crowned our 2014 Band of the Year, The War on Drugs previously teased with early tracks “Pain” and “Strangest Thing”, one of the first Granduciel wrote and demoed for the album. They also shared the stellar single “Holding On”.

In this glowing B+ review, Consequence of Sound’s own David Sackllah writes:

“Throughout A Deeper Understanding, The War On Drugs develop their strengths, taking what they do best and airing it out. A master class in widening scope, the record finds the band unafraid to push their sound in a way that feels bigger than what any of their contemporaries are doing. The band may not ever be gigantic, as 11-minute singles aren’t that marketable, but they’ve made a record that sounds huge.”

A Deeper Understanding Artwork:

the war on drugs stream deeper understanding album new listen The War on Drugs share new album, A Deeper Understanding: Stream/download

A Deeper Understanding Tracklist:
01. Up All Night
02. Pain
03. Holding On
04. Strangest Thing
05. Knocked Down
06. Nothing To Find
07. Thinking of a Place
08. In Chains
09. Clean Living
10. You Don’t Have To Go