Big K.R.I.T. drops first new track in two years, “Confetti”: Stream

Mississippi rapper is back with his first official single since 2015

There hasn’t been much out of Mississippi MC Big K.R.I.T. since he dropped 2015’s It’s Better This Way. He shared a series of freestyles last summer, but hasn’t delivered a true solo track in almost two years. That changes today with the release of his newest single, “Confetti”.

Producer Camper provides a menacing beat that looms with trapping electronic percussion and a piano line that would make John Carpenter’s ears perk up. K.R.I.T comes in with bars that, as a press release puts it, allude to “the topic of false pretenses around success.” “Got the win, I want the record, nigga/ What’s a crown if you protect it, nigga?” he asks on the chorus. “What’s a name if they don’t respect it, nigga?/ Nah, your confetti ain’t even heavy.”

Check out “Confetti” below.

Update — Monday, October 23rd at 2:02 p.m. CT: “Confetti” is taken from K.R.I.T.’s forthcoming double album, 4EVA Is A Mighty Long Time, due out October 27th through Multi Alumni/BMG. The follow-up to 2014’s Cadillactica and 2015’s All My Life features guest appearances from T.I., CeeLo Green, Jill Scott, Bilal, Robert Glasper, Lloyd, and UGK, among others. Check out the newly revealed tracklist below.

4EVA Is A Mighty Long Time Tracklist:

Disc 1
01. Big K.R.I.T.
02. Confetti
03. Big Bank (feat. TI)
04. Subenstein (My Sub IV)
05. 1999 feat Lloyd
06. Ride Wit Me (feat. UGK)
07. Get Up 2 Come Down (feat. CeeLo & Sleepy Brown)
08. Layup
09. Classic Interlude
10. Aux Cord
11. Get Away

Disc 2
01. Justin Scott
02. Mixed Messages
03. Keep The devil Off
04. Miss Georgia Fornia (feat. Joi)
05. Everlasting
06. Higher Calling (feat. Jill Scott)
07. Weekend Interlude
08. Price of Fame
09. Drinking Sessions (feat. Keyon Harrold)
10. The Light (feat. Bilal, Robert Glasper Jr, Kenneth Whalum, Burniss Earl Travis II)
11. Bury Me In Gold


Follow Consequence