Billy Corgan unveils new solo album, Ogilala: Stream

Produced by Rick Rubin and featuring former Smashing Pumpkins bandmate James Iha

Today, Smashing Pumpkins frontman Billy Corgan releases a new solo album entitled, Ogilala, produced by the legendary Rick Rubin. Subscribers of Apple Music and Spotify can listen in below.

In addition to Rubin, former Pumpkins bandmate James Iha contributed to the album, marking his and Corgan’s first collaboration in 17 years. Iha appears on “The Professional” as well as a non-album b-side. Another track, “Zowie”, is a tribute to David Bowie.

In a statement, Corgan says of the album:

“For as long as I can remember the delineation point between songs I wrote for myself and songs I’d pen for whatever band was something I couldn’t explain. And it remains so, for they all feel quite personal to me, no matter their time orera. The lone difference on songs for Ogilala is that they seemed to want little in the way of adornment.

Having written the songs for voice and guitar, I put myself in Rick’s hands to take the music wherever he’d like. Normally I would have done more, and tinkered more on production, but rather Rick put the onus on me to deliver at a molecular level via live takes. The rest was simply a reaction.”

Ogilala marks Corgan’s second solo album following 2005’s TheFutureEmbrace. The involvement of Iha has sparked speculation of Smashing Pumpkins’ reunion, with Corgan himself teasing the possibility of a new album and tour featuring the band’s classic lineup.

Ogilala Artwork:

Ogilala Tracklist:
01. Zowie
02. Processional
03. The Spaniards
04. Aeronaut
05. The Long Goodbye
06. Half-Life Of An Autodidact
07. Amarinthe
08. Antietam
09. Mandaryne
10. Shiloh
11. Archer

Corgan will support the album’s release by embarking on a North American tour in October. Find those dates here, and watch the video for “The Spaniards” below.


Follow Consequence