St. Vincent unveils her latest opus, MASSEDUCTION: Stream/download

The indie rock goddess returns with her fifth studio album

Photo by Maria Jose Govea

Today marks the release of St. Vincent’s new album, MASSEDUCTION. Subscribers of Apple Music and Spotify can stream it in full below.

MASSEDUCTION marks Annie Clark’s fifth full-length overall following 2014’s impressive self-titled LP. Spanning 13 tracks, the album was co-produced by Clark and Jack Antonoff, who earned accolade earlier this year for his work on Lorde’s Melodrama. Recording took place at Electric Lady Studios in Manhattan, with additional sessions at Rough Consumer Studio in Brooklyn, and Compound Fracture in Los Angeles.

(Read: 10 Times St. Vincent Gave No Fucks)

Other album contributors included Doveman’s Thomas Bartlett on piano, Kamasi Washington on saxophone, Jenny Lewis and Cara Delevingne on vocals, and beat production from Kendrick Lamar collaborator Sounwave. Greg Leisz and Rich Hinman added pedal steel, and Tuck and Patti Andress contributed guitar and vocals respectively on select tracks. Plus, Sleater-Kinney’s Carrie Brownstein penned the answers to Clark’s pre-scripted interview kit.

“Every record I make has an archetype,” explains Clark in a statement. “Strange Mercy was Housewives on Pills. St. Vincent was Near-Future Cult Leader. MASSEDUCTION is different, it’s pretty first person. You can’t fact-check it, but if you want to know about my life, listen to this record.” In a recent interview with New Yorker, Clark discussed the “sex and drugs and sadness” that informed the record.

In support of MASSEDUCTION, Clark will embark on her “Fear the Future Tour” beginning later this month.


01. Hang On Me
02. Pills
03. Masseduction
04. Sugarboy
05. Los Ageless
06. Happy Birthday, Johnny
07. Savior
08. New York
09. Fear The Future
10. Young Lover
11. Dancing with a Ghost
12. Slow Disco
13. Smoking Section


Follow Consequence