Kamasi Washington announces new double album, Heaven and Earth

The jazz saxophonist and Kendrick Lamar collaborator preps his follow-up to last year's Harmony of Difference EP

Kamasi Washington, photo by B+ & Mike Park

Kamasi Washington released one of our favorite records of 2017 with his Harmony of Difference EP, and now the prolific jazz saxophonist has announced a brand new LP. Titled Heaven and Earth, the double album follows Washington’s 2015 three-disc album The Epic. The record is out June 22nd via Young Turks.

Washington said this of the new record on Twitter: “The Earth side represents the world as I see it outwardly, the world that I am a part of. The Heaven side represents the world as I see it inwardly, the world that is a part of me.” Joining him in this journey are contributors Thundercat, Terrace Martin, Ronald Bruner, Jr., Cameron Graves, Brandon Coleman, Miles Mosley, Patrice Quinn, Tony Austin.

Update: Washington has shared the first two tracks from the album, “Fists of Fury” and “The Space Travelers Lullaby”, along with dates for an extensive world tour. Get all the info here.

Last year, Washington collaborated with the likes of St. Vincent, Ibeyi, and Thundercat, and joined Terrace Martin’s all-star collective The Pollyseeds. He’ll appear alongside Kendrick Lamar, Flying Lotus, and more on Herbie Hancock’s forthcoming album.

Heaven and Earth Tracklist:

01. Fists of Fury
02. Can You Hear Him
03. Hubtones
04. Connections
05. Tiffakonkae
06. The Invincible Youth
07. Testify
08. One of One

09. The Space Travelers Lullaby
10. Vi Lua Vi Sol
11. Street Fighter Mas
12. Song for the Fallen
13. Journey
14. The Psalmnist
15. Show Us the Way
16. Will You Sing


Follow Consequence