The Cure perform career-spanning setlist at Robert Smith’s Meltdown Festival: Video + Setlist

Smith closes out his own festival with 28 songs that go back to the very beginning

The Cure, photo by Lior Phillips
The Cure, photo by Lior Phillips

On Sunday evening, The Cure’s Robert Smith closed out his own Meltdown Festival with a career-spanning setlist in the truest sense. Appearing as Cureation 25, since the band’s forthcoming Hyde Park gig has been billed as their only European date of the year, the 28 songs performed were split into two separate sets that essentially saw Smith and the gang dusting off two songs per album.

The first section, “From There to Here”, included one song from each of their 13 studio albums in chronological order, coming to a close with their unreleased 2016 track, “It Can Never Be the Same”. The second section, aptly dubbed “From Here to There”, kicked off with their new song, “Step Into the Light”, before going backwards through their discography, ultimately opting for “Boys Don’t Cry” over another track off Three Imaginary Boys.

As Slicing Up Eyeballs reports, there weren’t any special guests, despite initial reports; instead, the night featured the current lineup of The Cure, which consists of bassist Simon Gallup, drummer Jason Cooper, keyboardist Roger O’Donnell, and guitarist Reeves Gabrels.

The entire performance is available to stream below. Peep the setlist shortly after and a selection of fan-shot footage.

From There to Here
Three Imaginary Boys
At Night
Other Voices
A Strange Day
A Night Like This
Like Cockatoos
Pictures of You
Jupiter Crash
Us or Them
It’s Over
It Can Never Be the Same

From Here to There
Step Into the Light
The Hungry Ghost
The Last Day of Summer
From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea
If Only Tonight We Could Sleep
Shake Dog Shake
One Hundred Years
A Forest
Boys Don’t Cry