Mudhoney announce new album, Digital Garbage, share “Paranoid Core”: Stream

Coinciding with the band's 30th anniversary

Stream Mudhoney "Paranoid Core" single
Mudhoney, photo by Emily Reiman

    This fall, alt-rock titans Mudhoney will release their first album in five years. It’s titled Digital Garbage and slated to arrive September 28th through Sub Pop.

    The 11-track collection follows Vanishing Point from 2013 and marks the band’s 10th overall since forming three decades ago. It was recorded with longtime mixer and engineer Johnny Sangster at Litho studio in Seattle.

    According to a statement, much of the album is a reflection on American current events. The title is taken from a line from the closing song, “Kill Yourself Live”, which comments on “the way notoriety goes viral.” Vocalist Mark Arm elaborated, “I’m not on social media, so my experience is somewhat limited, but people really seem to find validation in the likes — and then there’s Facebook Live, where people have streamed torture and murder, or, in the case of Philando Castile, getting murdered by a cop.”

    (Read: The Top 10 Grunge Albums of All Time)

    “In the course of writing that song, I thought about how, once you put something out there online, you can’t wipe it away,” he added. “It’s always going to be there — even if no one digs it up, it’s still out there floating somewhere.”


    Other tracks deal with the 2017 Charlottesville protests (“Next Mass Extinction”) as well as the media’s reaction to last year’s church shooting (“Please Mr. Gunman”).

    As a first listen, Mudhoney have shared “Paranoid Core”, the raucous, driving lead single. Hear it for yourself below.

    In support of the new LP, Mudhoney will embark on a world tour beginning next month. Their itinerary includes a short stint in North America followed by a lengthier outing in Europe. Find all their dates after the album artwork and tracklist.

    Digital Garbage Artwork:

    Mudhoney Digital Garbage album

    Digital Garbage Tracklist:
    01. Nerve Attack
    02. Paranoid Core
    03. Please Mr. Gunman
    04. Kill Yourself Live
    05. Night and Fog
    06. 21st Century Pharisees
    07. Hey Neanderfuck
    08. Prosperity Gospel
    09. Messiah’s Lament
    10. Next Mass Extinction
    11. Oh Yeah


    Mudhoney 2018 Tour Dates:
    08/11 – Seattle, WA @ SPF30
    09/15 – Vancouver, BC @ Westward Music Festival
    09/28 – Portland, OR @ Dante’s
    09/29 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre
    10/13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw
    11/11 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who? Festival
    11/12 – Groningen, NL @ Vera
    11/13 – Berlin, DE @ Festaal Kreuzberg
    11/14 – Hamburg, DE @ Fabrik
    11/15 – Koln, DE @ Gebaude 9
    11/16 – Luzern, CH @ Schuur
    11/17 – Vevey, CH @ Rocking Chair
    11/19 – Frankfurt, DE @ Zoom Club
    11/20 – Munich, DE @ Strom
    11/21 – Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
    11/22 – Rome, IT @ Largo
    11/23 – Milan, IT @ Santeria Social Club
    11/24 – Zagreb, HR @ Mochvara
    11/25 – Vienna, AT @ Arena Big Hall
    11/27 – Paris, FR @ Le Trabendo
    11/28 – Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
    11/29 – London, UK @ Electric Ballroom
    11/30 – Leeds, UK @ Leeds Beckett University
    12/01 – Glasgow, UK @ Lukes Church

Latest Stories