Animal Collective premiere new album Tangerine Reef: Stream

A collaboration with Coral Morphologic, the album comes accompanied with a full-length film

Animal Collective Coral Morphologic, Tangerine Reef stream
Animal Collective

    Animal Collective return today with Tangerine Reef, their audiovisual collaboration with “avant-garde coral macro-videography” duo Coral Morphologic (marine biologist Colin Foord and musician Jared McKay). The album and full-length film are both streaming below.

    Coming in celebration of the 2018 International Year of the Reef the project is just the latest collaborative effort between Avey TareDeakinGeologist and Coral Morphologic. Geologist provided the soundtrack to Coral Morphologic’s 2011 short film Man O War, Foord gave the spoken word intro for Avey Tare’s “Coral Lords”, and that same year they worked together on a live performance called Coral OrgyTangerine Reef originally premiered live during David Lynch’s Festival of Disruption in New York earlier this year.

    In addition to the 13-track record, Tangerine Reef involves a movie that takes viewers deep into the oceans to explore the rare reefs of the oceans — “a literal underwater collective of animals,” as a press release notes. The PR also emphasizes that there was no artificial enhancement used in the film, meaning the “visual tone poem consisting of time-lapse and slow pans across surreal aquascapes of naturally fluorescent coral and cameos by alien-like reef creatures” are 100% natural.


    Tangerine Reef Artwork:

    Animal Collective Tangerine Reef Coral Morphologic

    Tangerine Reef Tracklist:
    01. Hair Cutter
    02. Buffalo Tomato
    03. Inspector Gadget
    04. Buxom
    05. Coral Understanding
    06. Airpipe (To A New Transition)
    07. Jake And Me
    08. Coral By Numbers
    09. Hip Sponge
    10. Coral Realization
    11. Lundsten Coral
    12. Palythoa
    13. Best Of Times (Worst Of All)

Latest Stories