The Cranberries announce 25th anniversary reissue of Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?

Boasting the band's debut EP and a handful of early demos and B-sides

The Cranberries 25th anniversary everybody else is doing
The Cranberries

    Last year, prior to the sudden passing of singer Dolores O’Riordan, The Cranberries drew up plans for a 25th anniversary edition of their seminal debut album, Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?. In tribute to O’Riordan, the band’s surviving members decided to move forward with the archival release, which will arrive on October 19th through UMC.

    Available as a four-disc box set as well as a 2-CD deluxe bundle, the collection boasts session outtakes, B-sides, and the band’s debut EP alongside a remastered version of the original album. Also included is a handful of early demos, which were originally recorded under the name The Cranberry Saw Us.

    (Read: The Cranberries’ Stunning Debut Does More Than Just Linker 25 Years Later)

    Also on October 19th, fans can also purchase the remastered album digitally and on vinyl, including a 180-gram black LP and a limited edition color LP. Pre-orders have begun here.

    Since its initial release in March 1993, Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? has sold over six million copies worldwide. The debut record produced hit singles in “Linger” and “Dreams”.


    As a press release notes, it was main songwriter O’Riordan’s “dogged determination to succeed” that led to the album’s title:

    “Elvis wasn’t always Elvis,” she said. “He wasn’t born Elvis Presley, he was a person who was born in a random place, he didn’t particularly have a lot but he became Elvis. And Michael Jackson was born somewhere and he became Michael Jackson and so on and so forth. And I thought we were just born in a random place so why can’t we be that successful as well? And I believed we could but the majority of people were saying, ‘You’re absolutely nuts, you’re not going to make it, you can’t make any money out of it, you should do cover versions!’.”

    This 25th anniversary reissue comes ahead of The Cranberries’ final album, which is on schedule for release in 2019.

    Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? 25th Anniversary Tracklist: 

    Disco One: Original album remastered
    01. I Still Do
    02. Dreams
    03. Sunday
    04. Pretty
    05. Waltzing Back
    06. Not Sorry
    07. Linger
    08. Wanted
    09. Still Can’t…
    10. I Will Always
    11. How
    12. Put Me Down

    Disco Two: Album out-takes
    01. Íosa
    02. What You Were
    03. Linger
    (Dave Bascombe mix)
    04. How (Alternate version)

    Single b-sides
    05. Liar
    06. What You Were
    07. Reason
    08. How (Radical mix)
    09. Them
    10. Pretty
    (Prêt-à-Porter movie remix)

    Debut EP
    11. Uncertain
    12. Nothing Left At All
    13. Pathetic Senses
    14. Them

    Early demos *
    15. Dreams (Unmixed)
    16. Sunday
    17. Linger
    18. Chrome Paint
    19. Fast One
    20. Shine Down
    21. Dreams (Pop mix)

    *recorded as The Cranberry Saw Us

    Live at Cork Rock (June 1, 1991)
    01. Put Me Down
    02. Dreams
    03. Uncertain – Live at Féile, Tipperary (July 31, 1994)
    04. Pretty
    05. Wanted
    06. Daffodil Lament
    07. Linger
    08. I Can’t Be With You
    09. How
    10. Ode to My Family
    11. Not Sorry
    12. Waltzing Back
    13. Dreams
    14. Ridiculous Thoughts
    15. Zombie
    16. (They Long to Be) Close to You


    Disc Four: Dave Fanning, RTÉ radio session, 1991
    01. Dreams
    02. Uncertain
    03. Reason
    04. Put Me Down

    John Peel, BBC Radio 1 session, 1992
    05. Waltzing Back
    06. Linger
    07. Wanted
    08. I Will Always
    Dave Fanning, RTÉ radio session 1993
    09. The Icicle Melts
    10. Wanted
    11. Like You Used To
    12. False

Latest Stories