Posthumous Prince album, Piano & A Microphone 1983, has arrived: Stream

Nine raw tacks recorded with just a piano and a mic at Prince's Kiowa Trail home studio in Chanhassen, Minnesota

Prince Piano & A Microphone 1983 album stream

Warner Bros. Records has released its new posthumous Prince album, Piano & A Microphone 1983. Stream the entire thing below via Apple Music or Spotify.

The nine-track, 35-minute collection compiles raw studio recordings Prince laid down at his home studio, Kiowa Trail, in Chanhassen, Minnesota. Mirroring his 2016 “Piano & A Microphone Tour”, each song features nothing but keys and Prince’s voice, presented precisely as they were originally recorded.

(Read: The 25 Most Anticipated Albums of Fall 2018)

Included on the album is the previously unreleased rendition of the 19th century spiritual “Mary Don’t You Weep” (which featured in Spike Lee’s BlacKkKlansman), as well as the “When Doves Cry” B-side “17 Days”. Other tracks include early versions of “Purple Rain”, “Strange Relationship”, and “International Lover” alongside a cover of Joni Mitchell’s “A Case of You”.

Listen to the full record below.

Piano & A Microphone 1983 Artwork:

Prince Piano & A Microphone 1983 album cover art artwork black and white mirror

Piano & A Microphone 1983 Tracklist:
01. 17 Days
02. Purple Rain
03. A Case Of You
04. Mary Don’t You Weep
05. Strange Relationship
06. International Lover
07. Wednesday
08. Cold Coffee & Cocaine
09. Why The Butterflies

Recently, the majority of Prince’s full-length releases were made available on streaming services. A 27-piece orchestra performing songs currated by The Roots’ Questlove is currently touring under the name “4U: A Symphonic Celebration of Prince”.