Charles Bradley’s final album, Black Velvet, has arrived: Stream

The posthumous collection features new songs recorded during sessions for his three previous albums

charles bradley black velvet streaming
Charles Bradley, photo by Philip Cosores

Charles Bradley would’ve turned 70 on November 5th, and in celebration, Daptone imprint Durham Records has released Black Velvet just a few days later on November 9th. The album is now streaming in full below via Apple Music or Spotify.

(Read: Double Dap-Dipping: What’s Next for Daptone Records)

Black Velvet features new songs recorded during sessions for all three of Bradley’s previous albums: 2011’s No Time for Dreaming, 2013’s Victim of Love, and 2016’s Changes. Among its songs are a duet with LaRose Jackson called “Luv Jones”, along with alternate full band take of “Victim of Love” and three covers: Nirvana’s “Stay Away”, Neil Young’s “Heart of Gold”, and Rodriguez’s “Slip Away”.

Previously, we got a taste of the record with “I Feel a Change” and “Can’t Fight the Feeling”.

Black Velvet Artwork:

Charles Bradley Black Velvet Cover Art

Black Velvet Tracklist:
01. Can’t Fight The Feeling
02. Luv Jones
03. I Feel A Change
04. Slip Away
05. Black Velvet
06. Stay Away
07. Heart Of Gold
08. (I Hope You Find) The Good Life
09. Fly Little Girl
10. Victim Of Love (Electric Version)