Green River to reissue Rehab Doll LP and Dry As a Bone EP with unreleased tracks

A nostalgic look at the Seattle grunge precursors coming from Sub Pop

Green River Dry as a bone rehab doll reissue subpop Charles Peterson
Green River, photo by Charles Peterson

    While it’s easy to file Seattle’s rock revolution under Cultural Landmarks of the ’90s, its origins really start a decade earlier. Reminding listeners where grunge truly began, Sub Pop is reissuing two efforts from Pearl Jam and Mudhoney precursors Green River.

    On January 25th, 2019, the label will release deluxe editions of Green River’s 1988 debut LP Rehab Doll and their 1987 EP Dry As a Bone. Each will feature previously unreleased tracks from the era, all restored, mixed, and mastered by Jack Endino, who originally produced Dry As a Bone 30 years ago.

    The new edition of Rehab Doll will feature eight songs recorded to 8-track at Endino’s Reciprocal Recording. A press release describes the tracks as “a more accurate depiction of how the band sounded when they played live.” Included amongst the never-before-heard versions are the band’s cover of David Bowie’s “Queen Bitch”, the title track, “Swallow My Pride”, and “Porkfist”.


    Dry As a Bone, meanwhile, will come with further unreleased songs, including Betamax recordings of “One More Stitch”, “Hangin’ Tree”, “Bleeding Sheep”, and more. The collection will also feature tracks previously available on the C/Z Records compilations Another Pyrrhic Victory and Deep Six.

    Formed in 1984, Green River comprised Mark Arm of Mudhoney, Stone Gossard and Jeff Ament of Pearl Jam, Bruce Fairweather of Mother Love Bone and Love Battery, and drummer Alex Shumway. Their blend of blues, punk, and rock set the course for where alternative music went in the years that follow, and these new Sub Pop reissues celebrate that fact.

    Pressed on vinyl for the first time in years, the Dry As a Bone and Rehab Doll reissues are available for pre-order through the Sub Pop webstore. select independent record shops will also have limited Loser editions available, with the EP pressed on forest green vinyl and the LP coming on opaque lime green.


    Find the full tracklist and album art for each release below.

    Rehab Doll Deluxe Reissue Artwork:

    green river rehab doll deluxe reissue cover artwork

    Rehab Doll Deluxe Reissue Tracklist:
    01. Forever Means
    02. Rehab Doll
    03. Swallow My Pride
    04. Together We’ll Never
    05. Smilin’ and Dyin’
    06. Porkfist
    07. Take a Dive
    08. One More Stitch
    09. 10000 Things *
    10. Hangin’ Tree *
    11. Rehab Doll *^
    12. Swallow My Pride ^
    13. Together We’ll Never *^
    14. Smilin’ and Dyin’ *^
    15. Porkfist *^
    16. Take a Dive *^
    17. Somebody *^
    18. Queen Bitch *^

    * = Previously Unreleased
    ^ = Reciprocal 8-track Version

    Dry As a Bone Deluxe Reissue Artwork:

    green river dry as a bone deluxe reissue cover artwork

    Dry As a Bone Deluxe Reissue Tracklist:
    01. This Town
    02. PCC
    03. Ozzie
    04. One More Stitch *
    05. Unwind
    06. Baby Takes
    07. Searchin’
    08. Hangin’ Tree *
    09. Together We’ll Never
    10. Ain’t Nothin’ To Do
    11. Bleeding Sheep *
    12. Bazaar
    13. Thrown Up *
    14. This Little Boy *
    15. 10000 Things
    16. Your Own Best Friend

    * = Previously Unreleased

    As a preview of each release, listen to the new remasters of “This Town” from Dry As a Bone and “Forever Means” off Rehab Doll below.

Latest Stories