Cage the Elephant premiere new album Social Cues: Stream

Ahead of a huge summer tour alongside Beck and Spoon


Cage the Elephant, photo by Neil Krug

    Cage the Elephant have dropped their new album, Social CuesStream the follow-up to 2015’s Tell Me I’m Pretty now via Apple Music and Spotify.

    Recorded in various studios around Nashville and Los Angeles, Social Cues was produced by John Hill (Florence + the Machine, Portugal. the Man). Frontman Matt Shultz wrote much of the music while dealing with the dissolution of a personal relationship. In an exercise of self-examination, he used his lyrics to create characters who would “tell different parts of his personal story,” as a statement put it.

    The effort was previewed with a number of singles, including the Beck-featuring “Night Running”, “Ready to Let Go”, “House of Glass”, and the ballad “Goodbye”. In support of the record Cage and Beck are set to head off on a summer co-headlining tour featuring support from Spoon. To buy tickets while also supporting your favorite independent music publication, Consequence of Sound, head here.

    Listen to Social Cues in full below.

    You can also pick up more Cage vinyl here.

    Social Cues Artwork:

    Cage the Elephant Social Cues album cover artwork

    Social Cues Tracklist:
    01. Broken Boy
    02. Social Cues
    03. Black Madonna
    04. Night Running (feat. Beck)
    05. Skin and Bones
    06. Ready to Let Go
    07. House of Glass
    08. Love’s the Only Way
    09. The War is Over
    10. Dance Dance
    11. What I’m Becoming
    12. Tokyo Smoke
    13. Goodbye


    Below, revisit guitarist Brad Shultz’s recent appearance on Kyle Meredith with….

    Listen via Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Google Play | Stitcher | Radio Public

Latest Stories