Flying Lotus announces new album Flamagra, featuring David Lynch, Solange, Tierra Whack, more

Watch the strange video for "Fire is Coming" featuring Lynch

Flying Lotus Flamagra new album "Fire is Coming" Anderson Paak Tierra Whack David Lynch Solange
Flying Lotus, photo by Renata Raksha

    Flying Lotus has announced his first album in nearly five years. The You’re Dead! follow-up is titled Flamagra and due to hit shelves May 24th through Warp Records.

    The forthcoming effort spans a very generous 27 tracks, and boasts a long list of prominent collaborators, new and old. David Lynch, George Clinton, Thundercat, Anderson .Paak, Solange, and Shabazz Palaces make appearances on the LP, as do Toro y Moi, Tierra Whack, Little Dragon, and Denzel Curry.

    (Read: The Top Albums of 2014)

    With a varied guest list and the guidance of Flying Lotus, it should come as no surprise that Flamagra draws on hip-hop, funk, soul, jazz, global dance music, and even IDM. A press release describes it as perhaps “the definitive” FlyLo record, “an astral afro-futurist masterpiece of deep soul, cosmic dust, and startling originality.”

    In a statement, FlyLo (né Steven Ellison) talked about the role of fire in his vision for the new album:

    “I’d been working on stuff for the past five years, but it was always all over the place. I’d always had this thematic idea in mind — a lingering concept about fire, an eternal flame sitting on a hill. Some people love it, some people hate it. Some people would go on dates there and some people would burn love letters in the fire.”


    As a first listen of the LP, FlyLo has shared “Fire is Coming”, his collaboration with Lynch. The song is definitely not Game of Thrones pun, though its FlyLo-directed video features rabid children and Lynch dressed up as some kind of canine storyteller/soothsayer. You’ll have to see it for yourself.

    Check it out below, followed by the album artwork and tracklist.

    Flamagra Artwork:

    Flying Lotus Flamagra album artwork

    Flamagra Tracklist:
    01. Heroes
    02. Post Requisite
    03. Heroes In A Half Shell
    04. More feat. Anderson .Paak
    05. Capillaries
    06. Burning Down The House feat. George Clinton
    07. Spontaneous feat. Little Dragon
    08. Takashi
    09. Pilgrim Side Eye
    10. All Spies
    11. Yellow Belly feat. Tierra Whack
    12. Black Balloons Reprise feat. Denzel Curry
    13. Fire Is Coming feat. David Lynch
    14. Inside Your Home
    15. Actually Virtual feat. Shabazz Palaces
    16. Andromeda
    17. Remind U
    18. Say Something
    19. Debbie Is Depressed
    20. Find Your Own Way Home
    21. The Climb feat. Thundercat
    22. Pygmy
    23. 9 Carrots feat. Toro y Moi
    24. FF4
    25. Land Of Honey feat. Solange
    26. Thank U Malcolm
    27. Hot Oct.

    In the time since the release of You’re Dead!, FlyLo has contributed extensively to Kendrick Lamar’s masterful To Pimp a Butterfly and Thundercat’s Drunk record. He also helmed the acclaimed horror feature Kuso.


    Catch up on all of Flying Lotus’ past vinyl releases by heading this way.

Latest Stories