Lower Dens announce new album, The Competition, share “Young Republicans”: Stream

The follow-up to 2015's Escape from Evil arrives this summer

Lower Dens competition new album young republicans song release
Lower Dens, photo by Torso

    Four years after the release of Escape From Evil, Baltimore’s Lower Dens are back with a new album. The indie pop band will let loose The Competition on September 6th through Ribbon Music.

    Lower Dens’ fourth record to date explores the unhealthy urgency that competition often brings. Specifically chosen by the group’s lead singer and songwriter Jana Hunter, the record’s title is “a term for a socio-psychological phenomenon this [competition] generates,” explains a press release, “a kind of psychosis that accelerates our insecurities and anxieties to the point of total overload, corroding our intimacies, our communities, and our senses of self.”

    (Read: 10 Pop Albums for People Who Hate Pop Music)

    Hunter detailed further in a statement:

    “The issues that have shaped my life, for better or for worse, have to do with coming from a family and a culture that totally bought into this competitive mindset. I was wild and in a lot of pain as a kid; home life was very bleak, and pop songs were a guaranteed escape to a mental space where beauty, wonder, and love were possible. I wanted to write songs that might have the potential to do that.”

    In anticipation of the new album, Lower Dens are sharing the sweeping lead single “Young Republicans”. Check it out below via its official music video directed by Raul Gonzo.

    The Competition Artwork:


    The Competition Tracklist:
    01. Galapagos
    02. Hand Of God
    03. Two Faced Love
    04. Young Republicans
    05. Real Thing
    06. Buster Keaton
    07. I Drive
    08. Simple Life
    09. Empire Sundown
    10. Lucky People
    11. In Your House


Latest Stories