Angie McMahon announces debut album, Salt, shares “And I Am a Woman”: Stream

The rising Aussie singer-songwriter returns to tour the US this fall

Angie McMahon And I Am a Woman Salt Stream Debut Album New Song
Angie McMahon

Australia’s Angie McMahon has announced her debut full-length effort, Salt. Due out July 26th via Dualtone/AWAL Records, the effort follows March’s A Couple of Songs EP.

A number of tracks off the record have already been revealed, including “Pasta”, “Missing Me”, “Keeping Time”, and “Slow Mover”. Today, McMahon is giving us another dash of Salt with “And I Am a Woman”. The song is a slow burning but focused fight with perceptions and understanding of gender equality. As is typically the case with her music, is McMahon’s husky, emotive vocal performance that catches the ear, pulling it towards her and forcing you to pay attention.

As McMahon explained of the track to BrooklynVegan,

“This song started as a heated conversation, but I had to finish it on my own and make it into music, because I didn’t feel like talking, I felt like yelling. I wanted the hurting to be obvious.

There are all these things that our society teaches us about bodies, spaces, choices, feelings, safety, that we have to question and unlearn and do better with. Sometimes I can’t articulate my sadness and my anger, and I want to do better at expressing myself when it comes to the language of equality and change.

I loved writing this, because I didn’t have to hold anything in.”

Listen to “And I Am a Woman” below.

Pre-orders for Salt are now live. You can also catch Angie McMahon supporting the record when she returns to tour the States this fall alongside Hozier. Search for tickets here.

Salt Artwork:

Angie McMahon Salt Album cover artwork

Salt Tracklist:
01. Play the Game
02. Soon
03. Keeping Time
04. Slow Mover
05. Missing Me
06. Push
07. Pasta
08. Standout
09. Mood Song
10. And I Am a Woman
11. If You Call