My Morning Jacket announce The Tennessee Fire 20th anniversary reissue with 16 unreleased songs

Plus, they'll wax nostalgic with a special concert in New York

My Morning Jacket Tennessee Fire Reissue Photo by ben Kaye
My Morning Jacket, photo by Ben Kaye

My Morning Jacket will celebrate the 20th anniversary of their debut album, The Tennessee Fire, with a newly announced expanded reissue.

Due out August 2nd from Darla Records, the package boasts the original 16-song Tennessee Fire LP alongside a bonus disc featuring 13 previously unreleased songs. The bonus tracks include demos (“Lil Billy”), alternative versions (“Evelyn is Not Real”, “Heartbreakin’ Man”), and newly revealed numbers (“John Dyes Her Hair Red”, “Finger on the Frog”). Also included is a three-track download card for an early version of “If All Else Fails” and two different takes on “The Bear”.

All of the My Morning Jacket goodness comes housed in gatefold jacket featuring previously unseen images of the band, a drawing Jim James once attached to a now lost love letter and the original Tennessee Fire demo, and a copy of James’ original handwritten letter of direction for sequencing and layout. There’s also a 10-inch by 10-inch litho print.

(Read: The 10 Best Covers of Bob Dylan’s Blood on the Tracks)

But the celebration doesn’t stop with merch. My Morning Jacket have also revealed a special anniversary show in New York. Taking place August 9th at Port Chester’s Capitol Theatre, the concert will see MMJ play The Tennessee Fire in full along with other select tracks from the era. The show is just the fourth performance the band has scheduled for 2019, and comes one day before their Forest Hills Stadium gig in Queens.

Those who have tickets to the Forest Hills show will have access to a special pre-sale for the anniversary concert beginning June 13th. General on-sale will launch on June 17th. Find more information at the band’s website, and get tickets to all of MMJ’s upcoming gigs here.

Pre-order the Tennessee Fire reissue at MMJ’s site. The art and tracklist are below.

The Tennessee Fire: 20th Anniversary Reissue Artwork:

My Morning Jacket Tennessee Fire 20th anniversary reissue album cover artworkThe Tennessee Fire: 20th Anniversary Reissue Tracklist:
01. Heartbreakin Man
02. They Ran
03. The Bear
04. Nashville to Kentucky
05. Old Sept Blues
06. If All Else Fails
07. It’s About Twilight Now
08. Evelyn is Not Real
09. War Begun
10. Picture of You
11. I Will Be There When You Die
12. The Dark
13. By My Car
14. Butch Cassidy
15. I Think I’m Going to Hell
16. Untitled instrumental (Alabama Come Clean)

Bonus Disc
01. John Dyes Her Hair Red
02. Flew in on a Dead Horse
03. Yellow and Strobe
04. Lil Billy (Demo)
05. Evelyn is Not Real (First Version)
06. All This Joy Brings Different Feelings
07. Finger on the Frog
08. Gifts
09. Weeks Go by Like Days (Alternate Version)
10. Plasma Ball
11. Breathin’ Afterbirth
12. Heartbreakin’ Man (First Version)
13. I Think I’m Going to Hell (Two Meter Session)

Bonus Download
01. If All Else Fails (First Version)
02. The Bear (First Version)
03. The Bear (Third Version)