The New Pornographers announce new album In the Morse Code of Brake Lights, share “Faling Down the Stairs of Your Smile”: Stream

The follow-up to 2017's Whiteout Conditions arrives September

new pornographers morse code braking lights new album

The New Pornographers are gearing up to release their eighth studio album. Dubbed In the Morse Code of Brake Lights, it’s arriving on shelves September 27th through the group’s own Collected Work Records imprint.

As a teaser of the Whiteout Conditions follow-up, the Canadian indie rockers have shared lead single “Falling Down the Stairs of Your Smile”. According to front person and songwriter A.C. Newman, the track came to him as he thought of different ways to express and cultivate love — especially amidst today’s bleak state of affairs,

“There are so many songs like ‘the something of love’—you know, there’s ‘The Book of Love,’ ‘The Freeway of Love’…Then I thought of ‘falling down the stairs of your love,’ and I thought, that kind of works.

“I think it has that element of how do you deal with the ideas of love and happiness in this world right now? When current events are stressful, that makes a stress on people’s relationships, and you’re trying to figure out how to be happy in this loving relationship in this world that seems ugly at every turn, which is not as easy as it seems. So I like the metaphor of love as something that you fall down.”

Update — Friday, September 6th: The single’s video has been revealed. Directed by Mitchell deQuilettes, it follows everyday people who strangely feel compelled to break out into dance.

“I was really drawn towards the idea of an individual being sucked into a larger entity against their own will,” the directed remarked. “And how we all need to become a part of the business system in order to survive. Carl [Newman] said he wanted dancers and a strange tumbling sequence. This is our weirdo result.”

The Newman-produced Morse Code is available for pre-order. To promote the record, The New Pornographers soon embark on their first North American tour in two years. Grab your tickets here.

In the Morse Code of Brake Lights Artwork:


In the Morse Code of Brake Lights Tracklist:
01. You’ll Need A Backseat Driver
02. The Surprise Knock
03. Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile
04. Colossus Of Rhodes
05. Higher Beams
06. Dreamlike And On The Rush
07. You Won’t Need Those Where You’re Going
08. Need Some Giants
09. Opening Ceremony
10. One Kind Of Solomon
11. Leather On The Seat

[cos-videojs id=”vampireweekendevergreen-1549402126233,cagetheelephantevergreen-1549402158353,tourupdatejennylewis-1558043393553,noelgallaghersetlist-1560281383013,clairointerview2-1560979530713″ auto_play=true show_playlist=true sticky=true]


Follow Consequence