The Flaming Lips announce Soft Bulletin live album

Featuring the band's performance with the Colorado Symphony Orchestra at Red Rocks

Red Rocks live album 2020 The Flaming Lips, photo by George Salisbury
The Flaming Lips, photo by George Salisbury

    During an appearance on Kyle Meredith With earlier this month, The Flaming Lips frontman Wayne Coyne revealed that a new live album was on the horizon. Today, the band has formally announced the forthcoming effort. Officially titled The Soft Bulletin Recorded Live at Red Rocks with the Colorado Symphony Orchestra, it’s due out November 29th.

    The new live collection captures the Lips’ inspiring full album performance of The Soft Bulletin at Colorado’s famed Red Rocks Amphitheatre. The original concert took place May 26th, 2016 and saw the psych rockers accompanied by a 68-piece orchestra and 57-strong chorus led by renowned conductor Andre de Ridder. In collaboration with de Ridder, the Lips were able to debut “new arrangements for each song that use the full orchestra to greatest possible effect,” per a statement.

    (Read: Wayne Coyne Breaks Down The Flaming Lips’ Catalog)

    Live at Red Rocks comes only a few months after the group’s acclaimed King’s Mouth LP.

    Released back in 1999, The Soft Bulletin is The Flaming Lips’ ninth album overall. Its complex layering of instrumentation was considered a departure from their previous releases and garnered plenty of praise.


    Along with the upcoming live album, Coyne told Meredith that the Lips are prepping a collaborative record with Deap Valley, as well as their own album of new material. While you wait for the first of these three records, catch the band live by purchasing concert tickets here.

    The Soft Bulletin Recorded Live at Red Rocks with the Colorado Symphony Orchestra Tracklist:
    01. Race for the Prize
    02. A Spoonful Weighs a Ton
    03. The Spark That Bled
    04. The Spiderbite Song
    05. Buggin’
    06. What Is the Light?
    07. The Observer
    08. Waitin’ for a Superman
    09. Suddenly Everything Has Changed
    10. The Gash
    11. Feeling Yourself Disintegrate
    12. Sleeping on the Roof

    Catch them playing songs old and new on their current tour, including a stop at Levitation 2019, by snagging tickets here.

    Listen via Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Google Play | Stitcher | Radio Public | RSS

Latest Stories