R.E.M. release Monster 25th anniversary box set: Stream

The expanded set boasts previously unreleased demos, new liner notes, and live show performances

R.E.M. Monster 25th Anniversary Box Set

R.E.M. are celebrating the 25th anniversary of their 1994 album Monster with a new deluxe reissue. You can stream it below via Apple Music or Spotify.

The impressive six-disc box set contains an array of added material, including 15 previously unreleased demos, along with new liner notes, featuring interviews with the band. Additionally, it comes with a copy of the documentary film Road Movie, which follows the band on their 1995 worldwide “Monster Tour.” The package is tied together with re-envisioned artwork from the record’s original cover artist, Chris Bilheimer.

The new deluxe version is both expanded, and completely reshaped, including an entirely new remix of Monster, done by the album’s original producer Scott Litt. The updated take focuses on clearing out a bit of the heavier sonic branches of thick guitars and feedback “to create a more open sound and showcase often-revealing lyrics,” a press release states.

You can find the expanded new edition through online retailers, while Litt’s newly mixed take can also be purchased separately as a standalone double vinyl release.

The group likely won’t be reforming to tour the album, but keep an eye on frontman Michael Stipe, who recently branched out solo with his track “Your Capricious Soul”.

Monster (25th Anniversary Reissue) Artwork:


Monster (25th Anniversary Reissue) Tracklist:
Disc: 1 – Monster (Remastered)
01. What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?
02. Crush With Eyeliner
03. King Of Comedy
04. I Don’t Sleep, I Dream
05. Star 69Strange Currencies
06. Strange Currencies
07. Tongue
08. Bang And Blame
09. I Took Your Name
10. Let Me In
11. Circus Envy
12. You

Disc: 2 – Monster (Demos)
01. Pete’s Hit
02. Uptempo Mo Distortion
03. Uptempo Ricky
04. Harlan County with Whistling
05. Lost Song
06. AM Boo
07. Mike’s Gtr
08. Sputnik 1 Remix
09. Black Sky 4-14
10. Revolution 4-21
11. Rocker with vocal
12. Time Is On Mike’s Side
13. 1Experiment 4-28 no vocal
14. Highland Fling 4-29
15. Cranky 4-29

Disc: 3 – Monster (Remixed)
01. What’s The Frequency, Kenneth? (2019 Remix)
02. Crush With Eyeliner (2019 Remix)
03. King Of Comedy (2019 Remix)
04. I Don’t Sleep, I Dream (2019 Remix)
05. Star 69 (2019 Remix)
06. Strange Currencies (2019 Remix)
07. Tongue (2019 Remix)
08. Bang And Blame (2019 Remix)
09. I Took Your Name (2019 Remix)
10. Let Me In (2019 Remix)
11. Circus Envy (2019 Remix)
12. You (2019 Remix)

Disc: 4 – Live in Chicago 6/3/95 – Monster 1995 Tour Part 1
01. What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?
02. Circus Envy
03. Crush With Eyeliner
04. Near Wild Heaven
05. Welcome To The Occupation
06. Undertow
07. I Took Your Name
08. Strange Currencies
09. Me In Honey
10. Revolution
11. Tongue
12. Man On The Moon
13. Country Feedback
14. Monty Got A Raw Deal

Disc: 5 – Live in Chicago 6/3/95 – Monster 1995 Tour Part 2
01. Losing My Religion
02. You
03. Departure
04. Orange Crush
05. Get Up
06. Star 69
07. Let Me In
08. Everybody Hurts
09. So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)
10. Pop Song 89
11. Its The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)

Disc: 6 Blu-ray
01. Monster – 5.1 Surround Sound
02. Monster – Hi-Resolution Audio
03. Road Movie (concert film)
04. What’s The Frequency, Kenneth? (music video)
05. Crush With Eyeliner (music video)
06. Star 69 (music video)
07. Strange Currencies (music video)
08. Tongue (music video)
09. Bang and Blame (music video)


Follow Consequence