Real Estate announce new album The Main Thing, share “Paper Cup” featuring Sylvan Esso: Stream

The follow-up to 2017's In Mind lands next month

real estate new album the main thing tour dates
Real Estate, photo by Jake Michaels

    Real Estate have announced a new album, The Main Thing. The New Jersey band’s fifth full-length is set to drop in just a matter of weeks on February 28th through Domino.

    The follow-up to 2017’s In Mind is described in a press statement as the indie rock outfit’s “most inspired, self-aware set of songs yet.” Many of the tunes are filled with both “new depth” and “strangeness,” such as lead single “Paper Cut”. Highlighted by its refreshing, island-like relaxedness and guest contributions from Amelia Meath of Sylvan Esso, the track finds Real Estate persistent in their “searching for something real.”

    In a press release, the band’s Martin Courtney said of the single,

    “‘Paper Cup’ is a song about getting older and realizing that this thing that I fell into doing over ten years ago – being a musician, writing songs, being a guy in a band – this may end up being my life’s work. Watching the people around me change and evolve, take on new challenges, and feeling sort of stuck in a rut, in a way. Feeling uncertain of the validity of being an artist in an age of climate change and general political and social unrest around the world.”

    (Read: Artists Reflect on 25 Years of Weezer’s The Blue Album)

    Check out the single below via its music video, which follows the life of a giant, guitar-spinning squirrel named Chipper (seriously!).

    The Main Thing is available for pre-order now via Domino. It serves as Real Estate’s first LP since the group fired former guitarist Matt Mondanile in 2017 for “unacceptable treatment of women.” Take a look at the full tracklist and album art ahead.


    In support of the new album, Real Estate have a spring tour scheduled for North America. Be sure to purchase your concert tickets here.

    The Main Thing Artwork:

    Real Estate the main thing album cover artwork

    The Main Thing Tracklist:
    01. Friday
    02. Paper Cup (feat. Sylvan Esso)
    03. Gone
    04. You
    05. November
    06. Falling Down
    07. Also a But
    08. The Main Thing
    09. Shallow Sun
    10. Sting
    11. Silent World
    12. Procession
    13. Brother

Latest Stories