Chester Bennington’s pre-Linkin Park band Grey Daze announce new album Amends, unveil “Sickness” video: Watch

Featuring vocals Chester recorded during his '90s tenure in the group

Grey Daze album announcement
Grey Daze, by Anjella/Sakiphotography

    Grey Daze, the band that Chester Bennington was in prior to joining Linkin Park, will release a new album called Amends this spring. The LP features re-recorded versions of old songs, with Bennington’s original vocals still in place. In addition, the band has unveiled a video for the leadoff track, “Sickness”.

    Bennington joined Grey Daze in 1993 when he was a young teenage. The band gained a sizable following in the Phoenix, Arizona area until their breakup in 1998, after which Bennington joined Linkin Park.

    Chester had approached Grey Daze drummer Sean Dowdell about getting the band back together and playing a 20th anniversary show in celebration of Club Tattoo, a business they ran together. In early 2017, they teased a reunion show, but sadly Chester took his own life in summer of that year.


    For the Amends album, which arrives April 10th via Lorna Vista Recordings, Dowdell and fellow Grey Daze members Mace Beyers (bass) and Cristin Davis (guitar) re-recorded the band’s old tracks, keeping Bennington’s original vocals intact. Such musicians as Korn’s Brian “Head” Welch and James “Munky” Shaffer, Helmet’s Page Hamilton, Bush’s Chris Traynor, and others also appear on the album, helping to flesh out the songs.

    Update: The release date for Amends has been moved to June 26th due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

    In an interview with Rolling Stone, Chester’s widow, Talinda Bennington, remarked, “[Chester] wanted to do Grey Daze again because the music was awesome, he loved it back then, and he was excited to be able to create … he had accomplished so much and come so far since then – he was excited about it.”

    Following the first single, “What’s in the Eye”, which arrived in mid January, Grey Daze have released a music video for the song “Sickness”. The video can be seen below, while the Amends album is available for preorder via the official Grey Daze website.


    Amends Artwork:

    Grey Daze - Amends

    Amends Tracklist:
    01. Sickness
    02. Sometimes
    03. What’s in the Eye
    04. The Syndrome
    05. In Time
    06. Just Like Heroine
    07. B12
    08. Soul Song
    09. Morei Sky
    10. She Shines
    11. Shouting Out

Latest Stories