The White Stripes’ De Stijl receives 20th anniversary companion release

Featuring upwards of 30 previously unreleased demos, B-Sides, and live recordings

The White Stripes
The White Stripes

    The White Stripes’ sophomore album, De Stijl, celebrates its 20th anniversary in 2020. To mark the occasion, Jack White’s Third Man Records has announced a special vinyl-only companion release featuring unreleased demos, B-sides, and live recordings from the era.

    As was the case for the companion release to The White Stripes’ self-titled debut, the De Stijl 20th anniversary package is available exclusively through Third Man Records’ Vault subscription service. However, if you’ve been looking for an optimal time to sign up, now may be it.

    That’s because the double-LP set contains upwards of 30 never before heard tracks. Among the choice selections are Jack White’s original acoustic boombox demos for De Stijl, with many of the tracks featuring alternate and unused lyrics. Additionally, LP 1 boasts previously unreleased covers of Thee Headcoats’ “You’re Right, I’m Wrong” and the Burt Bacharach/Hal David song “I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself”, recorded at Corduroy Recording Studio in Melbourne, Australia in Fall 2000.


    The second vinyl captures The White Stripes’ New Year’s Eve 2001 performance at the Magic Stick in Detroit. Across 17 tracks are the band’s only known covers of AC/DC’s “Let There Be Rock” and “Dog Eat Dog” featuring Chris McInnis on bass, one of the only times the band employed the instrument in a live setting. The live recording ends with a cover of The Velvet Underground’s “After Hours” sung by Meg White, which marked her only performance of the song. The entire set has been speed-corrected and remastered in high-quality directly from the original board tape.

    The 20th anniversary package also includes an archival booklet featuring unseen photographs, flyers, posters, hand-written lyrics, and other band memorabilia.

    De Stijl 20th Anniversary Package:

    LP 1 Tracklist

    01. Truth Doesn’t Make a Noise
    02. A Boy’s Best Friend
    03. Sister, Do You Know My Name?
    04. I’m Bound to Pack It Up
    05. Expecting
    06. Vanilla Fields
    07. Piano Octaves
    08. You’re Right, I’m Wrong
    09 I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself
    and more!


    LP 2 Tracklist

    01. Let There Be Rock (AC/DC cover)
    02. Dog Eat Dog (AC/DC cover)
    03. You’re Pretty Good Looking (For a Girl)
    04. Hello Operator
    05. Death Letter
    06. Little Bird
    07. Lord, Send Me An Angel
    08. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground
    09. Apple Blossom
    10. Broken Bricks
    11. Cannon
    12. Truth Doesn’t Make a Noise
    13. Jolene
    14. I’m Bored
    15. Let’s Build a Home / Goin’ Back to Memphis
    16. Suzy Lee
    17. After Hours (Velvet Underground cover)

    White Stripes De Stijl 20th anniversary


Latest Stories