The Pretenders Announce New Album Hate for Sale, Share “The Buzz”: Stream

Chrissie Hynde recorded with the band's current touring lineup for the first time

The Pretenders new album hate for sale the buzz single stream

Update – March 24th: The Pretenders’ new album, Hate For Sale, has been postponed until July 17th due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The Pretenders have announced a new album, Hate for Sale. Due out May 1st via BMG, the full-length is being previewed with the lead single “The Buzz”.

The band’s 11th studio album marks a drastic personnel shift from the project’s last LP, Alone. That 2016 effort featured only lead vocalist/guitarist’s Chrissie Hynde backed by sessions musicians at Easy Eye Sound (Dan Auerbach, Richard Swift, Duane Eddy, etc.). For Hate for Sale, Hynde was joined by the full Pretenders touring lineup, including bassist Nick Wilkinson, guitarist James Walbourne, and (for the first time since 2002’s Loose Screw) original drummer Martin Chambers. Production was handled by Stephen Street (The Smiths, Blur).

What’s more, Hate for Sale marks the first time Hynde has written collaboratively with Walbourne. “I wanted to write with him since day one. James is especially sought after and has recorded with Jerry Lee Lewis, Dave Gahan, and The Rails, to name but a few,” Hynde said in a statement. “We always planned on writing while on the road, but as anyone in a band will tell you, being on tour is a procrastinator’s dream come true.”

Listen via Apple Podcasts | SpotifyGoogle Play | Stitcher | RSS

There’s no more stalling on “The Buzz”, a classic slice of enamored rock ‘n roll built off wistful acoustic guitars. “I think we all know that love affairs can take on the characteristics of drug addiction,” explained Hynde of the track. “It’s about that. Not mine of course — I’m never obsessive never obsessive never obsessive.” Take a listen below.

Pre-orders for Hate for Sale are available now. The Pretenders have plans for a huge arena tour alongside Journey this summer, and you can find tickets here.

Hate for Sale Artwork:

the pretenders hate for sale album cover artwork

Hate for Sale Tracklist:
01. Hate for Sale
02. The Buzz
03. Lightning Man
04. Turf Accountant Daddy
05. You Can’t Hurt a Fool
06. I Didn’t Know When to Stop
07. Maybe Love Is in NYC
08. Junkie Walk
09. Didn’t Want to Be This Lonely
10. Crying in Public


Follow Consequence