The Cranberries Announce Expanded Reissue of No Need to Argue

Featuring 19 previously unreleased tracks

The Cranberries No Need to Argue Reissue Expaneded

Irish alternative band The Cranberries have announced a deluxe reissue of their 1994 album No Need to Argue. The group’s best-selling LP will be available in expanded digital and physical editions on September 18th.

The Cranberries first achieved commercial success with their 1993 debut Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? But the sophomore follow-up No Need to Argue vaulted them into another stratosphere, spurred on by the smash protest song “Zombie”. A response to the IRA’s 1993 bombing of Warrington, UK, “Zombie” has endured as The Cranberries most beloved single. Vevo named it one of the ten most popular rock videos of the 2010s, and in April of this year, it became the first song by an Irish band to surpass one billion views on YouTube.

Lead singer Dolores O’Riordan unfortunately passed away in 2018, before she could celebrate the 25th anniversary of No Need to Argue and the latest records broken by “Zombie”. But this new deluxe reissue seeks to capture her spirit as a songwriter, activist, and lover of Ireland. The expanded edition includes remastered versions of the album’s 13 original tracks, as well as B-sides and a slew of extras. The double-CD and digital versions come with the hard-to-find MTV Unplugged rendition of “Yesterday’s Gone” and a wide variety of demos, including the rarity “Serious” which had only been available as a bootleg. It also doubles as a live album, with eight performances taken from two shows at Liverpool Royal Court in 1994 and the National Stadium, Milton Keynes in 1995.

[editors-picks id=”920367,931740″]

As for the double vinyl edition, it includes “Yesterday’s Gone” from the Unplugged set, as well as the B-sides “Away”, “So Cold in Ireland”, and “I Don’t Need”, and a cover of The Carpenters’ “(They Long to Be) Close to You.” Regardless of what form you choose for your physical copy, it will come stocked with a 5,000 word essay on the history of the album written by Eoin Devereux, the band’s archivist.

The reissue drops September 18th, and you can check out the full tracklist below.

Last year, The Cranberries released their lovely final album with O’Riordan, In the End. 

No Need to Argue Artwork:

No Need to Argue 2CD and Digital Tracklist:

CD 1: 2020 Remaster + Extras

01. Ode To My Family
02. I Can’t Be With You
03. Twenty One
04. Zombie
05. Empty
06. Everything I Said
07. The Icicle Melts
08. Disappointment
09. Ridiculous Thoughts
10. Dreaming My Dreams
11. Yeats’ Grave
12. Daffodil Lament
13. No Need To Argue
14. Yesterday’s Gone (MTV Unplugged)
15. Away
16. I Don’t Need
17. So Cold In Ireland
18. (They Long To Be) Close To You
19. Zombie (A Camel’s Hump Remix by The Orb)

CD 2: Demos + Live Tracks:

01. Song To My Family
02. So Cold In Ireland
03. Empty
04. Ridiculous Thoughts
05. Everything I Said
06. Yeats’ Grave
07. Serious
08. Away
09. I Don’t Need
10. Dreaming My Dreams (Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
11. Daffodil Lament (Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
12. The Icicle Melts (Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
13. No Need To Argue (Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
14. Empty Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
15. I Can’t Be With You (Live at National Stadium, Milton Keynes)
16. Ridiculous Thoughts (Live at National Stadium, Milton Keynes)
17. Zombie (Live at National Stadium, Milton Keynes)

No Need to Argue 2LP Tracklist:

Side A

01. Ode to My Family
02. I Can’t Be with You
03. Twenty One
04. Zombie 

Side B

01. Empty
02. Everything I Said
03. The Icicle Melts
04. Disappointment
05. Ridiculous Thoughts

Side C

01. Dreaming My Dreams
02. Yeats’ Grave
03. Daffodil Lament
04. No Need to Argue

Side D – Bonus Tracks

01. Yesterday’s Gone (MTV Unplugged)
02. Away
03. I Don’t Need
04. So Cold in Ireland
05. (They Long to Be) Close to You


Follow Consequence