Big Sean Unveils Stacked Tracklist for Detroit 2, Shares Nipsey Hussle Collaboration “Deep Reverence”: Stream

Upcoming record features Stevie Wonder, Travis Scott, Post Malone, Dave Chappelle, Eminem, Erykah Badu, Twenty88, and so much more

Big Sean (photo by Philip Cosores) and Nipsey Hussle

    Big Sean has announced a new album, Detroit 2, due out early next month. The forthcoming effort is the direct sequel to 2012’s Detroit, and also follows his 2017 LP I Decided. To coincide with the news, the 32-year-old MC is sharing “Deep Reverence”, a posthumous collaboration with the late Nipsey Hussle.

    Update — Wednesday, September 2nd: The insanely stacked tracklist for Detroit 2 has just been revealed. It features the late Nipsey Hussle, Post Malone, Erykah Badu, Eminem, Anderson .Paak, Travis Scott, Lil Wayne, Young Thug, Ty Dolla $ign, Jhené Aiko, Hit-Boy, Tee Grizzley, Kash Doll, Wale, and more. Additionally, there are two different pieces credited to Stevie Wonder and Dave Chappelle. Also worth noting is the apparent reunion of Twenty88, the duo of Big Sean and Aiko; the collaborative pair released its first and only album in 2016.

    Co-produced by Hit-Boy, the track sees the two rappers talking about how hard they worked in order to earn their street cred over the years. “F*ck rap, I’m a street legend/ But I’m the don cause the streets said,” the pair team up on the chorus. “Block love me with a deep reverence.”


    Later, Big Sean reflects on Hussle’s death in 2019, revealing that he turned to Kendrick Lamar for extra guidance. “After what happened to Nipsey, I reached out to Kendrick/ It wasn’t even no real issues there to begin with,” he raps. “Lack of communication and wrong information/ From people fueled by their ego, it’s like mixing flames with diesel.” It was previously rumored that Big Sean and Kendrick were feuding.

    Stream “Deep Reverence” down below. Detroit 2 officially drops September 4th via G.O.O.D. Music/Def Jam.

    Over the last few months, Big Sean has joined forces with Travis Scott and Teyana Taylor, and appeared on the new Nas album, King’s Disease. Nipsey Hussle was honored with a star-studded tribute at the Grammys earlier this year.


    Detroit 2 Artwork:


    Detroit 2 Tracklist:
    01. Why Would I Stop?
    02. Lucky Me
    03. Deep Reverence (feat. Nipsey Hussle)
    04. Wolves (feat. Post Malone)
    05. Body Language (feat. Ty Dolla $ign and Jhené Aiko)
    06. Story (by Dave Chappelle)
    07. Harder Than My Demons
    08. Everything That’s Missing (feat. Dwele)
    09. ZTFO
    10. Guard Your Heart (feat. Anderson .Paak, Earlly Mac, and Wale)
    11. Respect It (feat. Young Thug and Hit-Boy)
    12. Lithuania (feat. Travis Scott)
    13. Full Circle (feat. Key Wane and Diddy)
    14. Time In (feat. Twenty88)
    15. Story (feat. Erykah Badu)
    16. Feed
    17. The Baddest
    18. Don Life (feat. Lil Wayne)
    19. Friday Night Cypher (feat. Tee Grizzly, Kash Doll, Cash Kidd, Payroll, 42 Dugg, Boldy James, Drego, Sada Baby, Royce 5’9″, and Eminem)
    20. Story (by Stevie Wonder)
    21. Still I Rise (feat. Dom Kennedy)


Latest Stories