L’Orange And Solemn Brigham Reveal Second Collaborative Album As Marlowe: Stream

Marlowe 2 follows the alt-rap duo's 2018 self-titled debut

Marlowe (L’Orange and Solemn Brigham)

    Seattle producer L’Orange is a wizard when it comes cueing up just the right soul sample at just the right time. He’s used his magic on his own solo catalog, but also on countless collaborative albums with folks like Jeremiah Jae and Kool Keith. His latest joint effort is Marlowe 2, the sophomore LP from his Marlowe project with North Carolina rapper Solemn Brigham.

    L’Orange and Brigham first teamed up in 2018 for their debut album Marlowe. A continuation of that record, today’s release is a collection of songs sounding both of this era and yesteryear, thanks in part to L’Orange’s crate-digging skills and ear for vintage gold and a well-timed interlude. (L’Orange is said to source music from pre-1950s jazz, soul, and radio.) Brigham keeps Marlowe 2 in the present, as he rhymes about current social issues such as police brutality and economic inequality.

    All 18 songs on Marlowe 2 are streaming below. The full album, out through Mello Music Group, is available to purchase over on Bandcamp, which is waiving its cut of sales today as part of the site’s ongoing Bandcamp Fridays campaign. In other words, the alt-rap duo will directly benefit from each and every purchase.


    Marlowe 2 Artwork:


    Marlowe 2 Tracklist:
    01. Marlowe Returns (Intro)
    02. Spring Kick
    03. Small Business
    04. Later With It
    05. Otherworld
    06. Snake Oil Scientist
    07. Future Power Sources
    08. Sawdust Underground
    09. Paydirt
    10. Eddy Appetite Gets Repoed
    11. Dead A Lot
    12. Same Team
    13. OG Funk Rock (feat. A-F-R-O)
    14. The Machinations of E.W. Godfist
    15. Can’t Have Me Nothing
    16. Lamilton Taeshawn
    17. Preach Honest
    18. A Madman of Conviction (Outro)


Latest Stories