Growing Concerns Poetry Collective Announce New Album Big Dark Bright Futures

Plus, the Chicago trio share a new music video for "Shout Across Mountains"

Growing Concerns Poetry Collective
Growing Concerns Poetry Collective

    Chicago’s own Growing Concerns Poetry Collective have announced their new album, BIG DARK BRIGHT FUTURES. Due out October 16th, the followup to 2017’s We Here: Thank You for Noticing once again reunites filmmaker, poet, and actor McKenzie Chinn; actor and DIY hip-hop prodigy Mykele Deville; and multidisciplinary visual artist/musical composer Jeffrey Michael Austin. In anticipation, they’ve shared a music video for their latest single “Shout Across Mountains”.

    Written and composed between 2017 and 2019, the new album offers “an emotional, expansive, no-holds-barred journey through both the shadowed valleys and hopeful peaks of our current moment,” a press release notes. The Collective cites influences of Afrofuturism, Solange, and Frank Ocean, insisting that it “finds the common place between the personal and political as it explores the depth of social chaos while conjuring visions of collective transcendence.”

    “We are living through a moment in history,” said Chinn in a statement. “The stakes feel higher than they’ve been in our lifetime, and generations ahead of us will want to know what choices we made and what we fought for. They’ll want to know what we cared about and if we spoke up. This is the answer we’ll be able to give them.”


    Below, you can watch their new politically-charged music video for “Shout Across Mountains”. Directed by Talia Koylass, the gripping video features empowering footage of recent protests in support of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, and a host of Black Americans killed at the hands of police and white supremacists amidst Trump’s America. For more information on the song, revisit our recent Origins interview with the Collective.

    BIG DARK BRIGHT FUTURES lands October 16th and pre-orders are currently on-going. Consult the cover artwork below and the album’s full tracklist shortly after.


    Growing Concerns Poetry Collective - Big Dark Bright Futures

    01. Shout Across Mountains
    02. Proximity (Prelude)
    03. Come To Me Open
    04. Ancestry Pt II
    05. Decide
    06. Interlude (And What)
    07. First You Need A Body
    08. Breaking
    09. California Matter Conspiracy
    10. Young Troop
    11. Peace After Revolution
    12. America
    13. Five Fifths
    14. Some Dawn


Latest Stories