Ennio Morricone’s First Posthumous Album Announced

Morricone Segreto collects 27 rarities and alternate takes from the iconic composer

Ennio Morricone Album Morricone Segreto announced
Ennio Morricone, photo by Luciano Viti

Ennio Morricone died this past summer at the age of 91. Now, less than four months later, his first posthumous album is being prepped for release. Titled Morricone Segreto, it’s a 27-song compilation collecting rarities, alternate takes, and seven never-before-heard songs from the legendary composer.

Due out November 6th via CAM Sugar/Decca, the forthcoming project is billed as “the hidden, dark-tinged, and psychedelic side of Ennio Morricone.” A press statement further describes the album as an “acid-tinged sonic journey through mysterious voices, fuzz guitars, airy strings, eerie synths and modern grooves”, suggesting we might be hearing a different version of Morricone — not the one we’ve grown accustomed to through scores like The Hateful Eight, The Untouchables, and The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly.

In an interview with Variety, Morricone Segreto curator Pierpaolo De Sanctis confirmed as much, noting that the new album is meant to be an experimental departure from Morricone’s most well known material. “I am talking about electronic music, hip hop, alternative rock,” De Sanctis said. “The idea was to go look at why Morricone today is still considered so hip in music circles that are very far-removed from the world of film soundtracks.”

All of the compositions on Morricone Segreto were recorded between the 1960s and the 1980s, which is considered by many to be the Italian composer’s most prolific creative era. To get an idea of what to expect, check out a trailer below that features music snippets from the album.

Morricone Segreto will be released on November 6th, which would have been the Maestro’s 92nd birthday. Pre-orders for its 2XLP and CD variants are available now.

Ennio Morricone Artwork: 

Ennio Morricone Morricone Segreto artwork

Ennio Morricone Tracklist:
01. “Vie-Ni” (alt. take) – QUANDO L’AMORE Ė SENSUALITÀ – 1973
02. “Fantasmi Grotteschi” (edit) – STARK SYSTEM – 1980
03. “Vita e Malavita” – STORIE DI VITA E MALAVITA – 1975
04. “Tette e Antenne, Tetti e Gonne” – LA SMAGLIATURA – 1975
05. “Patrizia” (alt. take – con voci) – INCONTRO – 1971
06. “Per Dalila” – IL BANDITO DAGLI OCCHI AZZURRI – 1980
07. “18 Pari” – UN UOMO DA RISPETTARE – 1972
08. “Psychedelic Mood” – LUI PER LEI – 1971
09. “Fuggire Lontano” (edit) – L’AUTOMOBILE – 1971
10. “Jukebox Psychédélique” – PEUR SUR LA VILLE – 1975
11. “Fondati Timori” – LA SMAGLIATURA – 1975
12. “Edda Bocca Chiusa” – LUI PER LEI – 1971
13. “Non Può Essere Vero” – MIO CARO ASSASSINO – 1972
14. “Eat It” (versione singolo) – EAT IT – 1969
15. “Nascosta nell’Ombra” – QUANDO L’AMORE Ė SENSUALITÀ – 1973
16. “Dramma su di Noi” – SPOGLIATI, PROTESTA, UCCIDI – 1972
17. “Lui per Lei – LUI PER LEI – 1971
18. “Beat per Quattro Ruote” – L’AUTOMOBILE – 1971
19. “Stark System” (Rock) – STARK SYSTEM – 1980
20. “Il Clan dei Siciliani” (Tema n. 5) – IL CLAN DEI SICILIANI – 1969
21. “René La Canne” – RENE LA CANNE – 1977
22. “Ore 22” – SAN BABILA ORE 20: UN DELITTO INUTILE – 1976
23. “Sinfonia di una Città” – Seq. 4 – COPKILLER – 1983
24. “L’Immoralità” (edit) – L’IMMORALITÀ – 1978
25. “L’Incarico” – UN UOMO DA RISPETTARE – 1972
26. “Inseguimento Mortale” – LA TARANTOLA DAL VENTRE NERO – 1971
27. “Macchie Solari” (The Victim – versione singolo) – MACCHIE SOLARI – 1974