The Smashing Pumpkins Unveil New Double Album CYR: Stream

Their first double album since 1995's Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

The Smashing Pumpkins Release New Album CYR
The Smashing Pumpkins, photo by Jonathan Weiner

The Smashing Pumpkins have released their new double album CYR. Stream it below via Apple Music and Spotify.

CYR marks the second double album in the Pumpkins’ catalog, following their iconic 1995 album Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness (which they recently announced a sequel to). However, the 20-song CYR  is also a sequel in its own right, as it’s the second installment of the Shiny and Oh So Bright series, which began with their 2018 album Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. That release was notably the first Smashing Pumpkins album since 2000 to feature Billy Corgan’s fellow founding members, guitarist James Iha and drummer Jimmy Chamberlin. CYR consists of the same trio alongside guitarist Jeff Schroeder.

In a conversation with Apple Music’s Zane Lowe, Corgan described CYR as The Smashing Pumpkins having “gone back to just being ourselves.”

We’re good pop assassins, and I think as long as we’re sort of in that space, we’re good,” Corgan told Lowe. “Anybody can ascribe anything they want to it as far as stylistically, but it bears repeating that what most of the general public knows of the band is really only one small slice of the band’s music. The band’s sort of width was a lot wider. So this falls quite comfortably in the music that we’ve made through the years.”

In typical Pumpkins grandiosity, CYR comes paired with an accompanying animated series titled In Ashes that Corgan created. Watch the five-episode series here.

CYR Artwork:

The Smashing Pumpkins - CYR

CYR Tracklist:
01. The Colour of Love
02. Confessions of a Dopamine Addict
03. Cyr
04. Dulcet in E
05. Wrath
06. Ramona
07. Anno Satana
08 Birch Grove
09. Wyttch
10. Starrcraft
11. Purple Blood
12. Save Your Tears
13. Telegenix
14. Black Forest, Black Hills
15. Adrennalynne
16. Haunted
17. The Hidden Sun
18. Schaudenfreud
19. Tyger, Tyger
20. Minerva